The first day

Our first day of schooling at home this year went really well. The right attitude makes all of the difference. Who knew that that referred to me! Last year I focused a lot on ds’s and my conflicts. This year I desire things to be different.

We’re starting out slowly. Ds did a page in his Math-U-See book, and dd and I worked on Reading Reflex. Surprisingly to me dd can be quite independent. After she understood what we were doing she told me to help ds because she could do her work by herself. I had planned an outdoor math activity afterwards but we ended up just going on a bike ride. In that time dd learned how to ride her two-wheeler. We had been working on this periodically throughout the summer. Ds was so encouraging toward her. I was very proud of both of them. At lunch ds asked where babies came from. Now this is a discussion we’ve had a few different times over the years, but the questions are becoming more pointed. I believe if they ask the question they should get the answer – at least to their level of understanding. Just to be on the safe side I pulled out an Usborne book we have on the subject and we read it over lunch. They had many intelligent questions. It was an interesting discussion. After lunch they wanted go for another bike ride. Dd’s riding just kept getting better.

It was a positive productive day. Part structure and part free flow. I’m looking forward to the rest of the year.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

