Science Day

We went to the Space & Science Centre today. (I still call it that. The name changes, but I don’t keep up with the times, I guess!) They hold homeschooling workshops, and the kids were enrolled in one today. They attended “Magnet Magic”. It wasn’t until 2:30 PM, but I wanted to go early to take in a presentation on their Demonstration Stage. A Halloween themed one was scheduled for 11:00, but I was late (as usual) by 5 minutes, and they didn’t allow late comers. :0( It’s usually an open stage, but this time it was presented as a proper show or something. Ah well, we spent our time wandering around. We began in the Body Room, which is ds’s favourite. In fact, if I mention that we’re going to the Science Centre the first thing he says is “Yah! I love pushing the buttons that make the fart noises!” And sure enough he headed there first. While the kids were wandering around I saw a familiar looking lady and even more familiar looking children walk in the room. Sure enough it was Jane and her children from Escaping the City. (Hi back at ya, Jane!) I had never met them before, and (now this will sound crazy) I ALMOST felt like I was seeing celebrities or something. I walked up to her and asked “Are you Jane?” “Uh, yes” she says puzzled looking. “I recognize you from your blog?!” I was almost flustered. LOL! Kidding aside, it was great to meet her finally. Lovely English accents. But then I am a sucker for the ol’ English accent. That’s why I married my husband after all. That and he can lift heavy objects. 😉

Anyhoo, at 1:00 we watched a presentation on Cryogenics, at 2:00 our friends arrived who had signed up for the workshops with us. Ds was thrilled to see his friend. It’s a good thing that he had a half hour before his course started so that he could calm down. I was going to leave the kids in the workshop and chat with my friend, but dd looked a little nervous about my leaving her so I opted to stay. What a great little class. Afterwards we hung out in the Discovery Zone, and I got to chat with my friend at that point. We left at 4:00, and we were all pooped out. When we got home I made pizza which was nice, and basically flaked out.

By the way, I am sans camera at the moment. Adrian took mine on his trip. Mom was kind enough to lend me hers, but I naturally forgot it at home today. I’ll have to get some pics of the kids on the next homeschool day.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Science Day

  1. Jane says:

    You are too funny! It was good to meet you at last!! Its funny when you meet a blogger because you feel as though you know each other so well!

    It was chaos on Wednesday and I didn’t get to talk to you (or anyone) for long!

Leave a Reply

