Off Day

We had a crrrranky day. I think we’re all still tired from the bonfire party, if ya can believe it! That was a long night for us. It started at 6:00 pm and we (kids included) didn’t come back into the house until 12:30 am! 6 ½ hours of running around outside for the kids, and I know I barely sat down. Whew. It was fun, but tiring.

In the morning ds and I had some conflict trying to get school stuff done. The two kids bickered a lot today as well. We did have some fun playing Pirate Math in the afternoon. Ds thought up slightly different rules which made the game more fair (considering I was playing), and not as drawn out.

After that the kids played well for awhile, and I talked to a friend on the phone while I tidied the kitchen. It’s funny how much housework can get accomplished during a good chat with a friend. Listening to audio books works well for that, too.

Later, I decided it was time to clean and re-arrange the kids’ bedrooms. I enlisted their help, of course, and away we went. Their beds were underneath the windows – which is okay in the summer, but too cold for winter. I don’t know why I thought that moving bookshelves and dressers on my own was a good idea, though. My back is feeling it now. The kids were excited after we were finished. They thought that it was like having brand new bedrooms.

Because of the bickering, the kids got put to bed early. We tucked them in at 7:00 and they were asleep shortly after – obviously they needed an early night.

Now I’m on the computer checking emails, etc. Escaping the City is changing the format (or something) on her blog. You need to be invited now. I was clicking on that, but my computer started acting funny. Every blog that I clicked on went to a “MyFamily.com” website! EVERY blog…except A Spot of T, and I think that it’s because she’s through TypePad (whatever that is!). I re-started my computer. That seemed to help a bit. At least that “MyFamily.com” stopped coming up all of the time. It’s still not great, though. I’m still getting a lot of errors. I’m doing some scans on Norton, and found MANY errors. I’m trying to fix them now. We’ll see.

I’m considering backing up my blog. Not really sure how to go about doing so. Does anyone out there back up, and if so, how?

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Off Day

  1. Sirdar says:

    Your blog is on the Blogger servers, not your computer. About the only thing you can back up is the template. You might want to do that if you were changing your template and wanted the old one in case things didn’t work out. You can back up your template by going to the Dashboard and going to the Template tab. When you find your template HTML, control A and control c to copy it. Make a new text file on your desktop and call it whatever you want. Don’t use Word, use Notepad. Anyway, paste your “template” into that file and save it. The other way would be to become a beta.blogger and it gives you the option to save it on your desktop as an xml file.

  2. Sirdar says:

    Oh…I see you did switch to beta.blogger…then go to your template and the Edit HTML tab. It gives you the option to download your template. Hope you get your computer back in order. Want some advice 🙂 Get rid of Norton!! It causes more problems than it thinks it fixes and it WILL slow down your computer. My two cents.

  3. Joy T. says:

    I like two cents :o) Sirdar, if you come back here could you tell me what you’d recommend instead of Norton? I’ve been asking around and so far I’ve heard Panda is good or Kaspersky…neither of which I’ve heard of. My renewal’s up with Norton in the new year and I ‘really’ don’t want to use it anymore. I swear Norton is what messes up my computer 90% of the time.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Yes, cents are always welcome here!

    Adrian downloaded AVG – I saw that you wrote something about that on your blog. You didn’t seem to like it.

  5. Debbie says:

    Okay…why did my above comment show as anonymous?!! My name was selected under “choose an identity”. Sheesh, this is making my brain hurt.

    Deb

  6. Sirdar says:

    Debbie: Blogger is still having issues. I think blogger is moving everything to the new beta.blogger format. Pretty soon beta.blogger will be no more and will just be blogger…again. I hope they fix it soon.

    Joy: I think Debbie is using Norton Suite where it also watches your machine for any other error and tries to fix it. It probably contains an antivirus solution too.

    What do I recommend? NOD32 It isn’t free but it is one of the best for protection and not using a lot of resources. I’ve used it for 5 years before I moved back to dial up and then went to AVG. Now that I have highspeed again and the little issue I had on my machine a few weeks ago, I went back to NOD32.

    The two your mention are pretty good too. Trend Micro is another option. I still recommend NOD32 though. Personal choice from using it for so long and never having a virus get through and it using little resources. It has caught some viruses before in my emails so was quite happy to start using it again. My two cents 🙂

Leave a Reply

