Remembrance Day learning

We spent the morning talking about and doing Remembrance Day activities. While they were colouring in a wreath, I read to them some history on the wars that Canadians have fought in. Then I read the poem “In Flanders Fields”. We discussed what it meant and a talked a little bit about the author. I found a fictional letter from a soldier to his parents on an educational site, and so, we discussed what it would be like to be away from home under those conditions. All of the discussions took place while they were colouring – I find it easier to keep their attention that way. They were quite engaged and asked some good questions.

This is ds’s wreath. Dd hasn’t completed her’s yet.

Next they finger painted some poppies – they enjoyed that.



About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembrance Day learning

  1. Joy T. says:

    I love my kids being older now, but I sure miss the days of their art work hanging up on my fridge.

    Also, great work on all the cards, they look wonderful.

  2. Jane says:

    My crew are enjoying their Remembrance Day studies too…Chris is at the museum today helping with a Seniors tour of the Remembrance Day display…he is fascinated by the Wars…..

Leave a Reply

