Warning – Feeling Sentimental

I have wonderful friends who looooooove me!

When I was younger, I felt down because it didn’t seem like I had a lot of friends. Other people I knew seemed to have so many. I went to a friend’s baby shower and she had to rent a hall to fit everyone! At the baby shower for my son, it was mostly work people who came. My bridal shower had two or three friends and the rest were family and neighbours who saw me grow up. My phone may not ring for a few days.

As I write (type) this, I realize that I sound depressed about it all, but I’m not! In my twenties, I thought that there must be something wrong with me. My weekend schedules weren’t full, and they still aren’t today. However, now, in my thirties, I embrace it! I do not have a hundred friends, or fifty, or whatever. What I do have is a handful of friends that truly care for me.

I’m often reminded of this around my birthday, it seems. And not because of the presents either! When I turned thirty, my table was not full of cards. There were, I think, 5 or six. Every one of them, though, had meaningful and heartfelt sentiments written inside. It’s no different this year as I turn 33.

I stopped for a visit at a friend’s place yesterday morning and she presented me with a birthday gift. “The Wise and Witty Stress Solution Kit” by Loretta LaRoche. It’s a cute collection of witticisms, anecdotes, and humorous advice to see the funny side of life’s stresses. What I love about the gift is the person who gave it to me. Our short visit perked me up for the rest of the day.

So, today, I’m in a reflective mood about my friends. (Funnily enough as I tip and tap away at my keyboard, another close friend just IM’d me. He and I have been friends for about 14 years.) I used to stay with my great-aunt for part of the summer when I was around 12 and 13. She has a witty, matter-of-fact way about her. I remember her telling me that a person will only have a few “best-friends” in a life time. I thought that she was crazy. The way I saw it, at twelve I already had 2 or 3. That couldn’t be it for life, could it? I didn’t get it then – I get it now…or think I do anyway!

I think that it’s important to choose your friends wisely. No toxic people allowed, please. The friends I have add to my life, and I hope I add something to their lives, too.

Okay, I’ve run out of gushy, lovey dovey sentiments. I have to go and teach my kids something. Have a good morning, y’all!!!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Warning – Feeling Sentimental

  1. Joy T. says:

    Wow, I grew up feeling the exact same way and it wasn’t until I turned 40 that I felt the way you are feeling today. I’m a loner by nature anyway so I let very few people in, and I’m ok with that. A big happy birthday to you Debbie. Ah to be so young and so full of wisdom :o)

  2. Sirdar says:

    I’m the opposite. I used to have a lot more friends. Now the friends I have are the true ones. Most are family friends. I’m OK with that but I’d like a lot more. But there is a difference between true friends and good acquaintances.

  3. Debbie says:

    Thank-you, Joy!

    Sirdar – I agree that there is a difference. I think true friends are rarer than good acquaintances. Don’t get me wrong – I don’t turn down new friends! I love making new friends. For instance, it’s been wonderful getting to know you and your wife, the moms at our home-school program, the Junior Forest Warden people, etc. My heart is always open to a new friend.

    I can see that you guys probably make friends easily. Your wife barely knew me when she invited us over for the afternoon. So kind. And your kids are, too!

Leave a Reply

