Friday…

We spent the morning on more Remembrance Day activities. The children finished a craft from yesterday, and then coloured in a mini book illustrating the poem “In Flanders Fields”. While they were colouring ds said to me: “You know, mom, I’m not really a craft man. “Dd” is the artsy one – I’m more into actvities and doing things. So, don’t plan too many crafts for me”.

Well, he’s self aware which is a good thing. It’s nice that he’s getting to an age where he can tell me what he likes and doesn’t like. It’ll make lesson planning a bit easier, I guess. After they coloured in the book, quite unplanned, we started acting out the poem. Ds really enjoyed that, and got a good grasp on the poem as a result, I think. He has good chunks of it memorized, as well.

We made pizzas for lunch which turned out quite yummy. And then we met L, her son, and her dayhome kids for some sledding. The kids had fun, but L and I were cold. Brrrr. My boots aren’t warm enough. Wall-Mart special.

We came home and cozied up. I’ve been trying to teach myself the piano so, I fooled around on it for a little while. I’m trying to learn some Christmas songs. I have this image of us all singing Christmas carols around the piano…don’t laugh! It won’t happen anyway. I could be playing something quite well, and as soon as someone chimes in I start fumbling the notes. Mini stage fright, I suppose.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

