I’m an Oprah Girl

Anyone who knows me knows that I love Oprah – at least as much as anyone can love someone that they don’t actually know. She was free therapy for me throughout my twenties. My close friends and I would watch her AND talk on the phone at the same time. “Wow! Did you hear that? That is so me. What do you think of that? That makes me cry. Ha! That’s so funny!” And so on. I think of her as an inspiring role model.

So, when my parents gave me her 20th Anniversary DVD collection for a birthday gift I was pretty happy. This past Sunday I had a bit of an Oprah watching marathon. It started out with my just checking out the first disc, but then it turned into my watching the first three discs. Adrian was making fun of me, but even he wasn’t immune. After the kids were in bed that night he was drawn in and watching (and tearing up) right along with me. I love that my man watches Oprah with me! I am a little devious, though. If there was a part that I’d knew he’d be interested in (like the interview with a Holocaust survivor) I would pause the DVD and wait for him to walk by. Then I’d push play. He’d stop to watch that part, and next thing you know – he was sitting down with me! Hee hee hee.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m an Oprah Girl

  1. Jane says:

    I get Oprahs ‘annuals’ each Christmas – a collection of all her ebst articles from her magazine without all the commercials…every other page in her magazine is an advert grrrr

  2. Debbie says:

    I never heard of Oprah’s annuals! Where do I get this?

    I totally agree about her magazine. Sometimes, the first thing I do when I get one is tear out all of the adverts. It’s amzing how much lighter the thing is!

  3. Joy T. says:

    I got Oprah’s Anniversary DVD as well and this reminds me I never did finish watching it all. Seems impossible but it’s true, I just plumb forgot there was much much more to watch. I’ll have to set aside a day this weekend and finish.
    Glad to see you back Debbie, you were gone too long :o)

  4. Jane says:

    I get mine in Chapters!

Leave a Reply

