Embarrassing Mess

I am not an organized or particularly neat person. I wish that I was, but there you are – I’m not. Probably won’t ever be. We’re having company for dinner tonight. As usual my plan is to clean the whole house from top to bottom. As usual, I end up frantically cleaning up the hour before the company arrives. It is 4:00 and I should be cleaning right now, as a matter of fact. My neighbour just stopped by, and got a good look at my disaster of a front entrance way. Talk about my being mortified. I felt like screaming – don’t look at anything!! Luckily, she’s a cool lady. It was funny, though, it seemed like she was going to console me by saying “oh, it’s just like mine”, but stopped short when she took a second look.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Embarrassing Mess

  1. Sirdar says:

    You will appreciate it when the kids get older. Or you can start them now to help mommy. Dawn got them going pretty early in the helping clean the house thing. It was never perfect but they did their best. Someone once told me our house looks lived in…meaning that we have 6 people in it and it looks like there are 6 people living in it. She wasn’t being rude. So next time you have to rush to clean the house…leave it and use that excuse. Your house is lived in!!

  2. Joy T. says:

    With the hectic week I’ve had come on over and I just know you’ll feel a whole lot better. Sometimes it’s just gotta be what it’s gotta be and today would be tornado day. I imagine with kids your house is an awful lot like mine. Sometimes tidy and sometimes…not so much.

  3. Debbie says:

    Thanks guys! Your comments put a smile on my face.

    The kids are getting better and better at helping around the house, but you’re right. They’re probably capable of doing even more. I guess it’s time for chore charts or some such thing.

  4. Sirdar says:

    Talk to Dawn. There are many kids out that that hate her because she gave suggestions to their parents about how to get their kids to do more around the house 🙂

Leave a Reply

