Shhhhhh – Silence is a Virtue


I’ve been thinking about something that I read on another blog recently. It was a wonderful post on how life forced the author by way of an unfortunate accident to stop and take a break. She called it an opportunity for stillness.

Taking moments to quiet down isn’t a new concept to me. Several years ago a speaker at my mom’s group introduced the idea to us. I thought that it was genius. She suggested that we begin with 15 minutes per day, find a comfortable spot, and just sit. That’s it – sit. Don’t read. Don’t knit. No music. Silence. Close your eyes and breathe.

After I heard her talk I was going to rush home and start being quiet. 15 minutes isn’t all that long. But I didn’t get around to it that day. Or the next. Pretty soon months and years had passed. The message crept up from time to time, and I always thought, “I’d better get on that”. It became something else to add to my “should do” list and ultimately my “feel guilty about” list.

Recently I’ve been hearing the message more often beginning with the testimonial on that blog. She had to lose her day timer, camera, get a flat tire, and eventually suffer an injury to hear the universe’s message to slow down and become still.

The irony is that I’m not a particularly rushed person. I detest being too busy, but I don’t take advantage of my quiet moments to ponder life, either. Instead I talk on the phone, read, go on the computer or watch TV. In other words, I fill my mind with noise. I don’t take the opportunity to be still. How many of us do, I wonder? It’s amazing how loud silence can be.

Many of the women in the mom’s group seemed appalled at the suggestion of taking 15 minutes to be still. Perhaps they’d feel guilty for using up valuable time to be unproductive or they just might not have seen the point. There’s too much to do and kids running around.

When I try to quiet my mind it’s difficult to not let worries cloud my thoughts. They sneak in and hang out. They intrude on my tranquility. I thank them for visiting and then ask them to leave, but they just find another way inside. Those negative thoughts are like unwelcome guests that won’t go away.

Most people seem to be reactive rather than proactive. It takes a heart attack to get them to start exercising. A leg injury to make them slow down. I get laryngitis about once a year. I think it’s a message for me to listen more. I believe that messages (big and small) like these are occurring all of the time. They pass by so quickly that we need those moments of stillness to realize their significance.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shhhhhh – Silence is a Virtue

  1. Sirdar says:

    You are right. We should just stop for a bit and just think of nothing, do nothing, and stop for nothing. In theory it sounds so wonderful to be even able to do that. I wouldn’t feel guilty about it though…I just don’t do it. I could if I wanted to.

    There is a guy at work who hails from Africa. He only comes to Canada to work during the spring, summer and fall. He is about to go back to live, literally, in the jungle. He says there is no rush for anything and that is the way he likes it. Even here at work, he doesn’t rush or get frustrated. He just takes it easy because he says life isn’t work the rush and worry. He told me to sell everything and come to Africa with him and enjoy life. I actually thought about it for a minute or two…..

  2. Debbie says:

    I think guilt is part of a lot of women’s make-up. It’s just something we put on in the morning. Moms anyway. Whew! That’s deep!! Of course, I can’t speak for all moms. In my old age 😉 I’m trying to lighten up.

    Living in Africa sounds wonderful. As long as it’s not in a war torn country – I’m sure they have a lot of worry.

    It is amazing when you meet someone like your co-worker. They don’t just talk about it – they actually do it. I admire people like that.

  3. Joy T. says:

    I can only speak from my experience but as the kids get older there is less guilt to be wonder-mom I think. I think it also makes a difference who you hang around with as well. Hang around super-moms and you might want to become one. I don’t hang around super moms, just calm, relaxed, fun, non-judgemental people for me thanks.
    I spend a lot of time in silence (2 kids at school all day, one away at college, husband who works out of town) and it is THE best thing in the world. Of course, I like being with me….so that helps :o)

  4. Debbie says:

    Most of the moms I hang out with are relaxed, but there are a couple of “super-moms” thrown in for good measure. Sometimes I do compare myself, but I try not to.

Leave a Reply

