That’s Good That’s Bad

I taught the children a writing a game called “That’s Good That’s Bad”. Yet again, I thank Peggy Kaye and her game making books.

First of all I made a spinner from card stock and attached the arrow with a paper fastener. I have yet to find a better way to make a spinner. This one works okay, but it isn’t brilliant.

Next, I read to the kids a beginning of a story with That’s Good That’s Bad statements. For instance: “Little Johnny got an icecream. That’s Good. The icecream fell on the ground. That’s bad.” The good/bad statements won’t always go in this order, however, because the spinner will determine which one you write.

To add a bit of excitement (and motivation) you can add a points system. 5 points for a good statement, 3 points for a bad one, 8 points for both a good and bad statement, and 0 points for lose a turn. I wasn’t going to do points, but ds was so happy whenever he got a lose a turn that I had to change it up. After I implemented the points he was hoping for the spinner to land on the good & bad statment.

So, you take turns flicking the spinner and each write down an appropriate statement including That’s Good or That’s Bad. Here’s an excerpt from their story:

The monkeys picked up the bratty little brother.
That’s bad.
The brother escaped.
That’s good.
Tom & Gerry found the bratty little brother.
That’s good.
The lions started to roar loudly.
That’s bad.
Then they stopped roaring.
That’s good.

And so on. I’m looking forward to their stories getting more imaginative as we do this more often. My biggest challenge was to not correct ds’s printing. My goal for this game is for them to gain a love and enjoyment for writing. That won’t happen if I’m always looking over thier shoulders. Because dd is just beginning to learn how to print, she dictated her part of the story to me.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Games. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s Good That’s Bad

  1. Anonymous says:

    wow,good job

    sc

Leave a Reply

