Wake Up Call

My good good friend, M, gave me The Wise and Witty Stress Solution Kit by Loretta Laroche for my birthday a couple of weeks ago. It includes, among other things, a recording on CD of her speaking at a workshop. She is hilarious. Click this link to read a short article written by her.

She talks about relieving stress through humour and by being just plain happy. She says that instead of reacting to a stressful situation with despair, face it with a ridiculous English accent spoken through pursed lips all while wearing a red feathered boa around your neck. Imagine it. Your car won’t start in the morning, it’s freezing out, and you’re late. Instead of freaking out, turn on your over-acting silly self and say dramatically in a bad english accent: “Ohhhhh God. My car won’t start. Whateeeever shall I dooooo?” And guffaw. Yes, guffaw…loudly.

I love it. After I listened to the CD I was on a happy high for the rest of the evening. Poor G – she had to put up with my crazy mood on the phone. I’m now going to be on the look-out for foolish hats, flamboyant boas, and…a cape. These are necessary tools to aid in getting one’s self out of the perpetual habits of martyrdom, perfectionism, control freakdom, self-pitying, and being a big old BORE!

I’ve been feeling like a bore. What have I had to say for myself lately that’s of any interest? I home school my kids. Yes, that can be interesting. Okay, that is one thing, but what else? At a recent workshop the lady asked us each to state one of our passions (besides homeschooling). I was thankful to be the last in line to answer so that I could have time to think of something.

Passions are supposed to inflame you. Ironically, writing this blog has given me something to be passionate about again. I loved writing as a child, and now I do it daily. Not just here, but in journals as well. Photography is another. I aspire to take better pictures, and, therefore, carry my camera pretty much everywhere I go. I also love spending time on my little musical keyboard. I’m learning Fur Elise.

I’ve been feeling a little down in the dumps about myself lately, but listening to this hilarious lady has woken me up. Sadly, I compare myself to others too often. I’m not as interesting, intelligent, funny, creative, or whatever. She inspires me to stop being such a victim. God – get over myself already!! Turn on the music and dance around wildly. If nothing else, it’ll entertain my kids.

Thank-you again, M, for a wonderfully thoughtful gift.

A question from Loretta Laroche’s book: What are your passions, and are you truly living them?

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wake Up Call

  1. Joy T. says:

    Ah yes, we’re always the hardest on ourselves unfortunately. I wouldn’t be coming back to your blog if you were boring…you’re NOT boring OR uninteresting. You ARE hard on yourself though….snap out of it girl! :o)
    We have similar interests and I sure don’t consider myself boring, although I tend to tell people I am so they stop asking me what I’ve been up to. I think you’re doing juuuuust fine there missy and I’m glad I’ve gotten to know you a smidge through blogging.

  2. Debbie says:

    Man, I meant to convey how inspired I felt. I didn’t intend to be hard on myself…again! JEEPERS! You’re not the first person to tell me that…right, G? It’s a bad habit I’m trying to break.

    Anyhoo, thanks for the encouragement. 🙂 I am feeling good and positive. Yay for me!

  3. Sirdar says:

    From some of the leadership seminars that I attend one of the things that comes up is attitude. A good attitude will get you a long way. One of the hardest things for me is to give myself the credit that I deserve. Lately I have been told by a few people that they could never do the job that I am doing and they give me kudos for doing what I am doing. I am, like you, always hard on myself. Look at what you have and I think you have nothing to be down on yourself for. You have a great family living on an acreage that many people dream about having. You have a lot going for you. Be happy!!

    PS: If you really want to be know around the subdivision, put on your foolish hat and flamboyant boas and go for a few walks all the while talking to yourself in an English accent. At least you have a husband who can coach you on the accent 🙂

  4. Debbie says:

    LOL!! I might just do that, Sirdar. I was onsidering doing it at the grocery store, but I’m not sure that I’m brave enough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

