Monster Mom

My sister-in-law gave the children this book when they were 2 & 3 years old. It’s been their favourite book over the years.

The story: Mom is frantically trying to get the house ready for some last minute visitors. She has only until 4:00, and instead of helping her the kids cause more trouble and more mess. Throughout the story, as she gets more frustrated and angry, she gradually turns into a monster. Her hair goes crazy, she gets a green tail, and so on until she totally loses it at the end with flames coming out of her mouth instead of words. It has a happy ending, though, with the children finally helping their exhausted mother. They bond and all is well in the world again. What I love about the story is that the mom is trying to show these visitors how perfect her home, kids, and ultimately she is. When the visitors sit down to tea, those kids start acting up, and you see the “long, green, tail” appear under the table of the other mum. If she had just been honest with her friend (the house is a pig sty, but you’re still welcome to come over) they could have sat down and really enjoyed the visit.

I think that most moms can relate to this story. It is totally up my alley, that’s for sure. To this day, the kids know what I mean when I say, “sorry, kids, I had a monster mom moment there”. They just say, “yeah, ya did”. My kids are bickering a lot lately. I often get all wrapped up in their arguments – I get a little monster momish during those times. Funnily enough, it’s when the “big” stuff happens that I go into silent mode. No yelling – but if it were possible, flames probably would come shooting out of my mouth. Like the time, they decided to break half a dozen eggs on the couch. Do you know how difficult eggs are to get out? Another time they squeezed a bottle of mustard out all over the walls and floor in the spare room. Why?!?! That day definatly saw me turn into monster mom. Ds dumped a bottle of nailpolish on his bedroom floor once. That was not funny. 😀

A friend and I were talking about times when we’ve been less then proud as moms. Its important to forgive ourselves for those times, though, and move on. My kids don’t seem too screwed up, yet. But moms have a hard time with that forgiveness of ourselves thing, I think. My two are 17 months apart. Dd was collicky for the first six months, and I was operating on 2-3 hours of sleep. Ds was rambunctious 2 and 3 year old. I certainly didn’t always keep my cool.

And moms are hardest on each other. We should be supporting each other, but usually we’re judging one another. That just irks me. When I see a mom struggling in public, my heart instantly goes out to her. If I’m close by, I smile and give her an encouraging word. If I’m across the store, I simply send positive energy her way. I am merely seeing one day, one MOMENT, in time. I have no idea what her story is. Moms who sit on their pedestals can stay there – far away from me, thank-you.

I don’t even know why I posted this, actually. Just venting I s’pose. Avoiding baking. 😉

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monster Mom

  1. Sirdar says:

    All moms…and dads turn into monsters every once in a while. Being a monster helps to reinforce who is the parent and who is the child 🙂

  2. Joy T. says:

    Ah yes, the mommy monster, we see her often around my home :o)

    The book sounds great and oh so true. I am SO glad I learned it was impossible to be super mom, although I wish I would have learned it a bit sooner then I did. But I did learn and friends and family who judged and ‘expected’ me to be super mom, well, those people I try and avoid at all costs. And if they do come over, they have learned to tow the line or Joy cuts the visit short and asks them to leave. I am proud to say my mil wouldn’t DREAM of checking for dust anymore. I love getting old and wise :o)

  3. Debbie says:

    The friends I enjoy visitng with the most are those with who you don’t have to stop everything when they come over.

    One of my friends came over and helped me wipe down all of my cupboards once. It was a fun visit.

Leave a Reply

