Yikes – I have to bake…

I have to bring 3 dozen sqaures for this weekend’s craft show. I am not a baker. I love to cook, but baking for some reason stresses me out. Folding, cutting in, whipping, rolling, flouring, use cold untensils, light and fluffy, dropping a spoonful at a time….eeeek!! Give me a mix together and pour, a dash of this and a dash of that, salt & pepper to taste recipe anytime. Baking is just too finicky for me.

I’ve browsed through my Company’s Coming for Christmas Cookbook (actually it’s mom’s cookbook – I’ve just been borrowing it for about three years!) and found a recipe I’m willing to try. Not too many steps or ingredients. Not too complicated. For those of you on the edge of their seats now, I’ll keep you posted.

I have to go to the store for the ingredients, and I might just buy some squares for back up. I wish that I’d planned ahead and commissioned by buddy old pal, G, to bake for me. Now SHE’S a good baker and, for some reason, seems to enjoy the process.

G bakes with her daughter and turns it into a beautiful bonding moment. Unfortunately, because I’m already stressed about the baking process I become a little crazy. I’m pretty relaxed about banana bread now because we’ve made it so often, but I’m not sure how the squares will go. The children want to pour, and beat, and sift. Flour gets everywhere. I can never locate the correct measuring spoon. Whooooooooo. Breathe. It’ll be fine. We can do this…smile. 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yikes – I have to bake…

  1. Sirdar says:

    Dawn makes baking look easy. She always comes up with new things to add to make squares and things. Good luck on your baking. I am sure you will do great!! If not, I’m sure the family will help you eat whatever you make.

  2. Debbie says:

    I realized as I was baking today that I’ve never actually been taught how to bake. Does one get taught? I just try to follow the recipe as best I can, and lots of time it doesn’t really work out.:( May-be one day Dawn can give me some pointers!

  3. Joy T. says:

    For some reason this post reminded me of the good old cookie bakes…or I guess ‘exchange’ would be a better word…..me and a few friends would do each year. The kids were little and who had time for baking at Christmas? Not us, plus we were all new moms and some newly married and baking seemed so foreign. So we’d each make two different cookies but make 10, 12 or 14 dozen of them and then we’d all get together and each person would get 2 dozen each of each cookie.
    Well anyway, I’m not explaining it to make it sound as fun as it was, but it was a great tradition for about 5 years.
    Kids grow up, people move to different cities and there goes your baking buddies. Great memories though :o)

  4. Debbie says:

    I guess you learn by doing, heh? You enjoy baking now, Joy?

  5. Joy T. says:

    I love baking now and it definitely started with those moms. I guess like children, if we make it fun then we want to do more :o) Christmas baking is about to start here in the next couple of weeks. Now that my oldest is on her own she wants to come out one day and spend the day baking so she can take some goodies back to her apartment. I can’t wait :o)

Leave a Reply

