Memories of a Friend

A friend that I haven’t spoken to in ages (at least a year) called me up the other day. It was great to hear from her, and we did some catching up. Do you ever notice when you don’t speak to someone for a long time that it’s kinda hard to get back in the groove again? The first question is always, “so what’s new?” And even if you haven’t spoken to the person for years the answer tends to be, “not much”. I try to imagine how I would speak to the person if I had just spoken to them a few days before. I would talk about the daily stuff. That seems to break the ice and open the conversation.

Gloria and I used to work together years ago. I was 19 when I first met her. She was/is a wonderful friend. She’s quite the globe trotter. She loves to travel, and my biggest memory of her is going on a trip with her. I love to travel, but haven’t done nearly as much as I would like to. Not only did she travel, but she was brave enough to go by herself to places like Indonesia.

We were in the office one day and she was talking about her upcoming trip to Thailand, and it occurred to me: why don’t I go along with her? After we begged our boss to let us both go on holiday at the same time, all was set.

Thank-you, thank-you, Gloria for bringing me along on that trip. It’s a great memory that I cherish.

Here is a little tribute to her and that trip. There’s even a picture of me in a bikini! Man, that was sooooo pre-children AND pre-marriage.

(If the slideshow doesn’t work on here, try clicking on the “view show” link that appears underneath)

View Show Create Your Own

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Friends, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memories of a Friend

  1. Sirdar says:

    I watched the slide show. Looks like an awesome place. Glad you got to go before kids and marriage. I didn’t do that. Wish I did because it will be a cold day in heck before that opportunity happens again…

Leave a Reply

