This Cold or Whatever it is…

I have been sleeping soooo much lately. I have this weird cold which doesn’t really act like a cold. The symptoms seem to come and go. I cough sometimes and sniffle others. At times, I think I’m losing my voice. The other night I had the worst stomach pains and literally couldn’t sleep most of the night. I was on here until 3 in the morning. I thought that I’d go to bed so exhausted that I couldn’t help but fall asleep, but nope. I was awake at least another hour. This itch in my throat is fairly constant along with the tiredness. Weird. I feel okay during the day. Run down, but I can still do some things. It’s very hard to get out of bed in the morning. I haven’t even been hearing Adrian’s alarm which is weird. I usually get up with it since he lets it play for at least a half hour!! (but that’s another story) I’ve been sleeping until 9 or even 10 this week!!! Even then it could be later. Something wakes me up like the phone, etc. My eyes feel so heavy I feel like it’s the middle of the night or something. Luckily my kids aren’t little little anymore. They’re pretty self-sufficient in the mornings. 9 am. Sheesh. I hope I feel better next week. We’ve got school and I’ve gotta get back to teaching them some stuff. I can’t see it happening if I sleep half the day away. One of the phone calls that woke me up at 10:00! earlier in the week was my friend, L. I tried to lie when she asked what I was doing, but I finally admitted that I was still in bed.

At least we’re still getting out doing activities. We went swimming yesterday at a newly renovated pool. Very cool. It has a play centre in the smaller pool, built in water guns, and a huge slide. In the separate deep pool, there’s a swing rope and a climbing wall. I would have loved something like that as a kid. Ds was so proud that being eight years old he can now wear the wristband that allows him to go off without mom. He had no interest, however, in swimming the lap necessary which would allow him to go the deep pool and that climbing wall. He has a fear of deep water. He’s taken the second level twice in swimming lessons and failed because of this fear. As soon as they take the class to the deep end he freezes up and clings to the side. I think it stems from a swimming lesson that he took a couple of years ago. The instructor took the kids in the deep end, and he and an assistant were holding the kids. Then just let go! Sink or swim I guess. Well, my kid sunk. I saw him flailing and the dumb stupid idiotic teacher wasn’t looking. He finally looked around and scooped him up. Ever since that day my son will not go in the deep end without a life jacket. Can ya blame him? I’m trying to arrange for some private lessons. If the lady will ever call me back, that is. I guess the only person who can book private lessons is the one who teaches them, and whenever I call she’s busy teaching a course. Stupid system.

I guess that’s enough wining and complaining for one day. If you’ve actually reached the end of this entry I applaud you!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Cold or Whatever it is…

  1. Cheryl says:

    I’m sorry that you’re feeling so rotten. We had a funny cough go around here just before Christmas. None of us felt particularly sick (no sniffles or anything), just a mild sore throat for a day or two and then an annoying tickly cough that lasted for a month afterward.
    Feel better!

  2. Sirdar says:

    Sorry to hear you are so sick and tired. I’ve been sleeping in this week like that too. But that is because I am going to bed too late and don’t have to get up early in the morning.

    Hope things turn around soon.

  3. Debbie says:

    Thanks, guys! I feel a bit better today, although I still did sleep in. Sleeping in isn’t necessarily bad, I’m just amazed by it. It was another 9 am morning today. The kids are getting used to it too which means they’re not going to bed so well at night. Next week will be fun.

  4. Joy T. says:

    clap clap clap :o) I had the exact same thing around Christmas, no energy whatsoever…and I whined. Didn’t help but I did it anyway. I’m finally feeling my energy coming back but it was weird for sure.

Leave a Reply

