Don’t Be a Rubber Necker

There was a horrible accident on the highway en route to pick the kids up from their homeschool program today. I saw 3 or 4 cars in the ditch along with, what looked like, a gravel truck. The cars were all badly damaged with one being upturned on the roof. It’s so distressing seeing accidents like these. Ambulances were there so, I know people were hurt. I just hope not too badly.

This was on a four lane divided highway. The accident and emergency vehicles were in the east bound lanes and I was heading west on the other side. Traffic on the east side was naturally quite clogged up, and on our side we slowed down to fifty. Fine. This is what you do, of course. But! When you clear the scene of the accident you’re supposed to accelerate and get the hell out of the way. That is unless you want to rubber neck like the two people in front of me who were driving the white pick-up. I understand, to a point, people’s fascination with accidents. I glanced too when we were slowly passing, but I make a point of not staring. I don’t want to be one of those idiots that cause another accident because they’re not watching the road. These people were staring and pointing way past the place where we needed to slow down. People had to switch lanes to get around them. I couldn’t because my exit was coming up. I detest rubber neckers!! They remind me of people who stare in restaurants or other public places. Mind your own business, people! Sheesh.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Be a Rubber Necker

  1. Anonymous says:

    YOU TELL THEM GIRL

    sc

  2. Sirdar says:

    It gets hard to tell when the neck is turning into rubber. If there were only a manual…

    I know what you mean though. One thing that I think most people call rubbernecking is when people slow down at the scene of an accident. They are really rubbernecking, like your guy, but they are slowing down out of safety….most times.

Leave a Reply

