Here Fishy Fishy Fishy

On Saturday we went ice fishing with the Junior Forest Wardens. For something that I was dreading it actually turned out to be a fun day. I’m glad we went. It was -15 C that day, but the sunshine and lack of wind made the chilly weather bearable. Unfortunately, there were no fish to be had because, as we found out, the oxygen level in the lake was only 1%. This, apparently, kills off the fish. The kids still had fun, and Dd even said she’d like to do it again. Normally, sitting around a hole in the ice freezing my a#* off isn’t my idea of fun. This time wasn’t so bad because we were with a group of people. There several other women to chat with, but I won’t be making it a regular thing. Sorry, Dd. Talk to your dad!

Ya think if I look cute, the fish will come?

This is Ds and his friend peering down the hole to see the bottom. One of the families brought their ice fishing tents, and the kids had fun checking them out. When Dd first saw them she said, “Oh look! They brought little bathrooms!” So cute.

Tent time.
There was quite a trudge from the vehicles to the lake. Being out of shape like I am, I was really huffing and puffing by the time we got to the lake or back to the shelter for lunch. At least I got my exercise in that day!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Here Fishy Fishy Fishy

  1. Steffi says:

    Wow…beautiful pictures and I think all had much fun!-15°C that´s icy cold!You received my e-mail,Debbie….?

    Have a nice day!
    Steffi

  2. Joy T. says:

    Ohhhh this brought back some great memories of our ice fishing days. A fire on the ice and roasting kubasa and drinking hot chocolate…for the kids…and something with a little kick for the adults. We would bring the big suburban so people could warm up in there if they wanted to. Good times good times!

  3. Jane says:

    What a great experience for you all 🙂 I bet the kids had a blast!

  4. Heather says:

    Looks like a fun day….very cold…it’s much more enjoyable a little bit warmer. I love laying on my belling looking in the ice hole…it’s like peeking into a different world! Great memory for the kiddos! My boys went yesterday but didn’t catch anything. Glad too because I already have 4 frozen trout in the freezer!! I just have this feeling they aren’t going to be that good thawed out compared to nice and fresh…

  5. Sirdar says:

    I don’t really like ice fishing. Actually I don’t like any fishing. Just never got into it I guess. Glad to see your kids, and I’m sure Adrian had fun. Hope your a** has thawed out 🙂

  6. Debbie says:

    Actually, Adrian got out of it because he had a test that day. He’s taking his Master’s Electrician course.

  7. Sirdar says:

    Hope Adrian passed. The new money will be nice I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

