There’s No Accounting for Taste ;)

A close friend was over recently. Just before she left she started perusing my book shelf. I pulled out my beloved Color Purple, started to hand it to her while asking if she’d ever read the book. “Is it as boring as the movie?” she asked. Gasp. I felt like an arrow had pierced my heart, and I quickly pulled back the book and hugged it to my chest (to keep it safe, lest it heard the remark). “You didn’t like the movie?! I LOVE that movie!” I still had the book tucked protectively close. “Uhhh. Well, it WAS a long time ago – maybe the book is better”, she says. But it was too late. The damage was done. I put the book safely on my shelf, and that was that. So, I guess ya never know your friends…

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to There’s No Accounting for Taste ;)

  1. Anonymous says:

    As frinds good we have lots in common,thats why we are frinds,BUT not everything.We learn as we grow.

    sc

  2. Joy T. says:

    LOL great post. I think I could almost hear your heart shrivel a bit there. Color purple was the best. I never did read the book because I loved the movie so much. I kept thinking if I read the book, it would ruin the movie I loved so much.

  3. Steffi says:

    I don´t know this book.Sorry!But I always just read the book and than I watch the movie.
    Maybe I read this book “Color purple”.I will see if I find it in a german bookstore.

  4. Heather says:

    I haven’t read the book or seen the movie…but they have BOTH been on my list….I’ll read the book first though. I am always that way have to read the book.If I see the movie then the book has images of the movie in my head.

    I give up on friends who don’t read. I’ll have a conversation with a friend who says she would love to read but she can never find a good book. So I loan out a favorite book…you’ll love “Secret Life of Bees” or you’ll love,”The Red Tent” and they will NEVER read it and NEVER give it back…I just finally picked up both copies used at the thrift store again. I rarely loan books out anymore…

  5. Debbie says:

    This friend does read – we just don’t have the same taste. Which is allowed, I guess!

    I like to read a book before the movie, too. If there’s a book turned movie coming out that’s getting a lot hype, I’ll go out of my way to read the book first. The only is that then I often don’t get around to seeing the movie. “Memoirs of a Geisha” and “The Da Vinci Code” are two recent ones.

    With the Color Purple I loved both the book and the movie, equally. I read the book when I was about 13 or so. I guess I can see why someone who’s just looking for action might find it boring.

  6. Jane says:

    Urgh movies from books…they are almost NEVER as good as the book..I was soooo disappointed in ‘The Notebook’ when it came out….and even the Bridget Jones movies are so different to the books….

    The Color Purple is a wonderful book – a real American ‘Classic’ along the lines of ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’. And of course the storyline must have been a difficult one (or perhaps therapeutic?) for Oprah to be involved with.

    Heather – I also don’t understand people who don’t read….or don’t have their homes filled with books…I have a friend who doesn’t have any books in her home……I find that so odd! We are all bookworms here – although Lloyd just buys them and puts them on the shelf saying he will read them when he retires as he just doesn’t have the time to read more than his This Old House magazines these days!

  7. Heather says:

    Da Vinci code and Memoirs of a Geisha were awesome books. I have only seen the movie for Da Vinci Code.

    I was pretty Happy with the first Harry Potter movie…it stayed pretty true to the book…but the rest of the books/movies are missing things….

    Jane, I hope Lloyd gets some time to read sometime soon…Jeremy reads before bed…the paper in the evening and in the mornings he reads business books and motivational books. He BURNS through books. Pretty amazing because he NEVER read books for enjoyment until after we got married.

  8. Sirdar says:

    I vaugly remember The Colour Purple. I remember that Oprah was in it. But that is about it. Oh well…it doesn’t matter if I or your friend likes it…as long as you like it.

Leave a Reply

