Great In the End

Today was an up and down kinda day. Homeschooling didn’t go well. Lots of conflict with Ds. In fact, it’s days like today that I wonder what the heck I’m doing homeschooling. He obviously doesn’t want to learn. I try to motivate him with speeches about making a living someday, needing to read if he wants to drive (and do anything else in the world but cars are his thing at the moment), etc., but he just doesn’t seem to get it!

A tidbit from today:

Me: Okay, next question. (We’re doing a series of math word problems)
Him: Sigh. This is dumb.
Me: What’s dumb is you not applying yourself. Now…Christine is told that she will get a new bike on her ninth birthday. She will turn nine in one year and 2 months. How many months will she have to wait for her bike?
Him: Sigh. (looking down) Nine years?
Me: (Silence-Trying to be patient since we just went over how to figure this stuff out.) Can you read me the problem please?
Him: (He reads it)
Me: Can you tell me where it asks for the amount of years?
Him: (looks) It doesn’t.
Me: So, we need to figure out how many months, right?
Him: Yeah, but I don’t know how!!
Me: Well, maybe we need to start at the beginning. How many months in a year?
Him: Sigh. I know all this stuff.
Me: !!!!!!! Well, if you knew it then you would know how-to-figure-out-the problem.
Him: This is dumb.

I’ll spare you the rest because it didn’t end well. I’m aware that it wasn’t my shining moment in the homeschooling circles. I’m sure that I could’ve made up some cool way to teach him this concept. Perhaps, I could have put on a clown suit and did somersaults to get his enthusiasm up, but sometimes I just feel like teaching him the damn lesson! I shouldn’t have to always jump through hoops to teach him. I make games, we act stuff out, but come on. There are times when you’ve just got to sit your butt down in the chair and do the work.

It’s frustrating because he’s smart. He picks up concepts quickly. He understood the concept today he just didn’t want to do the work. This isn’t a one time event either. He seems to think that he shouldn’t have to do school. Like I’m being mean because I’m making him learn something. Ironically, I think part of the problem is that he’s never been to regular public school. He doesn’t know what it’s like to go every day all day.

Okay, so, my whole morning was like that, and it thoroughly exhausted me. I had to just lie on my bed, with the door shut, and re-group. I despise losing my temper. Especially when it comes to teaching. I just laid there with my eyes closed and breathed deeply. Letting the stress drain away. Then I remembered all of the groceries I still needed to get for tomorrow. Damn! The stress came rushing back. You see, my plan was to go on Tues/Thurs while the kids were in school but then the strike thing happened. Just then the phone rang. It was my friend, L. While unloading my crap about my day onto her, she offered to take me to Costco in the evening. Well, that just solved everything. Relief. Thank God for friends. I ended up having the rest of the afternoon to tidy the house (again!) and calm down. Then, tonight, I had a wonderful visit with my friend. We went to Costco and then out for dinner at East Side Marios. We shared some hot wings and I had angel hair pasta with shrimp. Yummy. A great end to a crappy day.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great In the End

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh yes…homeschooling can be frustrating at times. I don’t know if I would have the patience. I imagine Dawn acquired some patience or just learnt another method to deal with that situation…because I am positive it happens here too. You have a resource just down the road should you choose to use it 🙂

  2. my4kids says:

    That does sound frustrating. My kids go to public school right now but we go through these same kind of conversations while trying to get homework done. It is frustrating then to. It mostly comes from my 10 yr old who is very smart but doesn’t want to have to think about anything

  3. Emma in Canada says:

    I admire you, even on the bad days. By the time Saturday evening rolls around I can’t wait until Monday, and I still have all day Sunday to get through! I don’t even have the patience to get through homework some nights!

  4. Joy T. says:

    I wanted to homeschool so bad when my kids were younger but my husband was dead set against it. At the time I was ticked, but now I’m kind of glad I didn’t. My son would have been ok, but I could see me and my girls ‘going at it’ when it came to me as teacher. Too close in personalities when it comes to me and my girls. It’s bad enough being a mom and the bad guy some days, little own having to be a teacher too. I think it’s a break for all of us when they are in school.
    I admire anyone who can homeschool and do it well. And yes ‘well’ means a few hiccups along the way :o)
    Glad the night out with your friend helped.

Leave a Reply

