Pride Gets in the Way

Yesterday was a better homeschooling day in that both children seemed engaged and in good spirits. I hope today goes just as well. The strike is still on so we’re taking the time to catch up on math. I might look up some things to do for Science, too. That’s usually a subject covered at school.

On the subject of the strike. It’s been nearly a week and a half. We haven’t really done anything exciting with our time. No “friends” from school have contacted us so, I’m feeling a little isolated. I’m going to have to make some calls and try to set up some play dates. It’s twisted right? That I should feel upset that no one has called us? I haven’t called them, either. I just feel like I’m always the one making the calls first. Poor me, I know. I’m almost being too proud. They’re not calling me so, I’m not going to call them. You’d think I was still in grade two.

Okay. I’m going to go phone someone. Right now.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Introspective. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pride Gets in the Way

  1. Heather says:

    I know what you mean on the calling thing…I’m really bad at calling friends…

  2. my4kids says:

    I also know what you mean about calling. I always end up being the one to call everyone and I end up feeling like I want to say. “why don’t you call me once in a awhile” why is it always up to me? I guess I am stuck in second grade also. Its okay though.

  3. Sirdar says:

    We are bad about calling too. We have the neighbour’s son with us during the strike. Poor kid…he just gets transferred to his new school and then they go on strike. He has brings school work with or reads books while our kids do their school work. Of course our kids wish the teacher would go on strike here 🙂

  4. Jane says:

    I don’t do phone calls to anyone…..I can’t abide the telephone unless its to my Mum…..I find the phone stressful because as soon as I am on the phone the kids ‘NEED’ me…..

    Probably a good thing because these days my kids are on the phone so much I never get to use it anyway…..

    I am extremely unsociable from October until March every year…..I hibernate and like my own company…then come March I slowly come out of my cave……luckily the friends close to me totally understand 🙂

  5. Steffi says:

    I agree with all comments about this.So I can say the same like Jane,Heather and all others: I don´t do phone calls anyone only to my parents and my sister.

  6. That Chick Over There says:

    I am MISERABLE at calling people. I have two people that I really NEED to call TODAY and I’ve been putting it off for a week!

Leave a Reply

