I Have Found My Inspiration

In my last post I wrote about my lack of inspiration. Well, I’ll tell ya – if anyone is looking for inspiration I have a suggestion for where it can be found. Watch “Building a Dream – Oprah’s Leadership Academy for Girls”. I watched it tonight and I am officially inspired.

I saw how these girls, who have lived through such tragedies, brave the threat of rape and any other numerous forms of violence to go to school. After watching that show I am filled with gratitude for our life and the opportunities available for our children. I’m motivated to do my best every day to home school my children. (I need to keep this video on standby for those inevitable days where I feel overwhelmed.) These girls have such resilience and determination. And hope. After all they’ve been through they still have hope.

I’m wrapped up in the story of the school and the girls. I wish the television special had been longer than the one hour. I wanted to see so much more of them and how they’re doing. I hope Oprah keeps us posted.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Introspective. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Have Found My Inspiration

  1. Sirdar says:

    I didn’t see the show but there are many wonderful women/girls who have come up from adversity and gone on to be great people. It starts with support, with encouragement, with a sense of caring about themselves and then others. I applaud those people.

    Glad to hear that you feel inspired!!

  2. Joy T. says:

    I’m sure Oprah will keep everyone posted, she’s good like that. I like Oprah and what she’s done and I like what she stands for. She’s so proud of that school and she should be. I wish they had schools like that all over the world.

  3. Heather says:

    I missed the show! Darn!! I have heard alot of people criticizing Oprah for doing it…I’m like why would you think of a school for girls such a bad thing?? Plus it is Oprah’s money and she can do whatever she wants with it…I think she is VERY generous with her money…

Leave a Reply

