Oooh Baby It Was Warm Today

It was a wonderful day and sooo warm out. Too warm for coats even. It’s amazing how the body acclimatizes. +8 C in the summer would be ghastly, but during the winter it is positively balmy!

We spent the afternoon playing outside. Dd and I (mostly I) worked on a Quinzy (snow shelter) that I started a couple of weeks back. It looked so easy when we did with the Junior Forest Wardens. I didn’t take into account, however, that there were about twenty people working on it then. Plus, it turns out that it’s easier to watch someone dig out the inside then it is to dig it out yourself. My arms are killing me!! I hope I’ll be able to lift them tomorrow.

When Adrian came out to join us the kids couldn’t resist pelting him with snowballs. I stayed out of it, quietly working on my quinzy. At one point I innocently walked past when Adrian decided to throw a nice big fat snow clump (it was too big to be a ball) right at my head. It hit the side of my face, slid down my shirt and then down my back. I was not happy. I know I should have been a better sport about it, but it was damn cold! He apologized, of course, but he better not think he’s safe. I’m biding my time to get him back. Whoo hoooo, he’ll be sorrrry!

With all of the melting snow there were puddles forming, and the kids just had to play in it, of course. When we finally came in the house, they were soaked. Oh I can feel spring comin’!!!




Making snow castles!


Checking out the progress on the snow shelter.
My little poser.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oooh Baby It Was Warm Today

  1. my4kids says:

    Very cute pictures! I love snow pictures there is just something different about how the pictures come out….The snow fort sounds fun also. And my husband seems to get me with the snow chunks all the time, I’ll get him someday, somehow.

  2. Steffi says:

    Cool pictures and nice to see your children in snow but nice weather!

    Steffi

  3. Joy T. says:

    Great pictures Debbie. I agree, it was fantastic out. I even went for a walk and couldn’t believe how many other people in the subdivision ventured out too. Great way to say ‘hi’ to the neighbours after hibernating for a few months.

    Of course the warm weather also meant swarms of snowmobiles and quads were out too. I could care less, I say have some fun people, but some of the ‘older’ neighbours aren’t too pleased with the noise sometimes.

  4. Heather says:

    Looks like a fun, warm day…I’m jealous!!!

  5. Sirdar says:

    I guess this answers the question on the previous post 🙂

    Glad you got out too. I went to the car show and the roads were positively wet. No sense washing the car now….

Leave a Reply

