Horses, Snakes, Birds, and a Cat – Oh My


The kids played for quite a long time with dd’s horses this afternoon. She got them this last Christmas, and they came with a whole ranch set. Every once in awhile they’re pulled out and we spend the day tripping over horses and white picked fences.

We didn’t do very much homeschooling today. They wrote in their journals for awhile, and then I made what I thought would be a quick call. By the time I got off they were playing with the horses and I couldn’t bring myself to make them stop. I just love it when I hear their imaginations letting loose. They were very involved with setting up the ranch so I just left them to it. I don’t even feel badly! I think it’s great for kids to just play like that. It consumed their entire afternoon.

Then at 3:00 we went into town to get our pets their new expensive food that the vet recommended. You can only get it at the pet stores. Well, we can never just go in and out of pet stores with the kids. They have to look at all of the snakes, lizard, birds, and fish. Ds fell in love with the budgies, and asked a lady who worked there questions about how to take care of them and how much they cost. I was actually getting sold on the idea myself. I told him we’d have to talk to daddy about it, but on the way home I suddenly remembered something very important…We have a cat!! One that is very good at catching mice and birds. Ds still isn’t totally convinced that we couldn’t manage to have both.

By the time we got home it was time to make supper. I made a delicious chicken stir fry. Now I’m looking forward to a nice relaxing evening with Adrian.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Children, Homeschooling, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Horses, Snakes, Birds, and a Cat – Oh My

  1. Jane says:

    budgies don’t sound so bad! Lloyd is trying to persuade me to let him have a pet tarantula…its his birthday next week so I have a week to decide…YIKES!!!!

  2. Debbie says:

    At dinner tonight we were discussing the bird issue. We all agreed it wouldn’t be a good idea, but then Adrian and Ds said, what about a snake?! Yikes is right.

  3. my4kids says:

    Yah birds would be bad here also, we have 2 cats who love birds. They have a hard time leaving the poor hamster alone as it is.
    I would have a hard time pulling the kids away from playing quietly like that also. I love it when they all actually get along. Also it is so rare….

  4. Joy T. says:

    I used to have hundreds…or so it seemed when I was a kid…of those farm animals and played with them for hours on end. I agree, playing like that is the best. I mean, look how I turned out :o)

  5. Steffi says:

    Of this toys like Nathalie never enough!she love to play with this little animals and she have a big collections for diffrent horses,dogs,farm animals!In Germany we have a very good firm for this animals,maybe you know “Schleich” too?they are a little bit expensive but you can use their animals over generations…

    Look here: http://www.schleich-s.de

    Bye,Steffi

  6. Debbie says:

    Steffi – Yes we do have those here, and yes they are expensive. But they also look and feel so good. I love the knights and fairies. I just can’t bring myself to spen $15 or $20 on one item. Mind you, a couple of the horse’s tails that were new at Christmas have already broken off. So, there is something to be said for quality.

    I’m always on the look out for good animal sets. Decent size ones that don’t cost an arm and a leg are hard to find.

  7. Heather says:

    I have no idea what a budgie is…I’m going to have to go google it….

    My kids have wanted snakes, rabbits, hamsters…so far we only have a dog. I have never wanted any other pets because it would be one more pet for me to take care of. Now they are older and could probably do it themselves. Jeremy however is totally antisnake though!

  8. Debbie says:

    I know what you mean, Heather. We were talking at one point about bunnies, but do I want to clean out the bunny cage? Noooooo. Maybe when they’re older we can get another pet.

  9. Sirdar says:

    I think our kids had that same farm setup. Made for many hours of imagination…which is a good thing these days.

    I think a bird was mentioned once here too…except we have three cats. Mind you if it is in a cage and hanging……

  10. Debbie says:

    The birds like to be out and flying around sometimes, I guess. Prime pickings for the cat.

Leave a Reply

