Just Say No

So, Adrian is ticked at me. I told a friend that I would take care of her dog while she went away for the weekend, and he’s not pleased. And I knew that he wouldn’t be pleased, either. Now, I’m going to suffer for it this weekend. Her dog, while lovely in her own way, is a tad excitable. And she barks…loudly. She runs away, too, so I’m going to have to tie her up when I let her out. Adrian says she chases Max, but I don’t remember that. She does bother Cleo, though. She seems to want to play, but Cleo is over 10 yrs old and doesn’t want to play. And…she has humongous poos! I mean, they almost look like they come from a horse! So why did I say yes, you ask? Because I felt like I couldn’t say no. No one else would take her dog. She’d do it for me, and I feel like you should be there for your friends when they need you. I wish I’d said no, but it’s too late now. I could have said, “Your dog doesn’t get along with my animals”. I wish that I’d even thought of that response. Adrian says that I didn’t think this through very much, and I suppose he’s right. How bad can it be though? Taking care of a dog for 3 or 4 days…I guess I’ll let y’all know in 3 or 4 days, right?! I pick her dog up tonight, and she gets home late Monday night.

It’ll just be my luck that this will be the one day my friend decides to read my blog! He he he. Hopefully, she’ll be too busy packing because my friend is awesome. It’s not her fault I didn’t say no.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Introspective. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just Say No

  1. Joy T. says:

    Saying no is definitely hard for some people. Not me though, I’m special like that :o) Seriously though I used to have a hard time saying no too, but over the years I’ve learned it doesn’t make me a bad person just because I said no to someone. Personally I like what you said about being there for your friend because you know she would do it for you. Tells me you both are good people and make great friends.

    As for hubby, well here’s hoping there’s peace in your home til the dog goes home on monday :o)

  2. Sirdar says:

    We couldn’t do it. Our dog does not play well with newcomers to the yard. Our new neighbours to the south of us came for a walk and brought their dog. Didn’t work out well.
    I am sure it will be just fine. I would do it for a friend too…and we have before. We usually take George out to the farm if we are going away over night…which doesn’t happen often. We usually get someone to come an look after Nika and the bunnies while we are gone. Nika in the yard is a good thing when we are gone.

  3. my4kids says:

    I can never say no either and I even tend to offer to do things that I really don’t want to do. Hubby gets irritated sometimes but he pretty much expects it now.

Leave a Reply

