Dream, Dream, Dream, (When I feel blue)

I read a post on Jane’s blog (gone private) about her dreams. It got me thinking about mine. I usually have very vivid dreams. I’ve even woken up sad or angry from a dream because I’ve forgotten for a moment that it WAS a dream.

I have a few dreams that I’ve been having for years. They come along once a month or so. There’s the one where I’m flying. Love that one. And one where I’m really late for the first day of high school and I can’t find my classes so I wander the halls in a panic. In real life, my high school had only two hall ways. Sometimes I have dreams that I’m trying to talk but I’m chewing a great bid wad of gum, and the gum is stuck all in and amongst my teeth. I keep trying to pull the gum out. I pull a piece of it a few inches out of my mouth, but the rest just keeps sticking to my teeth. I’ve never had the dream where I’ve successfully pulled the gum out. It could be really meaningful but I think it’s just when I have a particularly “gummy” mouth because I wake up from those dreams quite thirsty – and frustrated. That reminds me of the dreams where I’m so thirsty I just keep drinking and drinking.

It’s most interesting when I find I can control my dreams. It happens quite by chance – I don’t plan it or anything. Usually, I’m being chased. I’m running through dark caverns or something and get to the point where there is nowhere to run and nowhere to hide either (Nowhere ta ruun, Nowhere ta hiide, Got nowhere to run to, baby). I crouch down to make myself small, and then suddenly remember that I’m dreaming and that I can make myself invisible if I want. So I do and the bad guy comes by but doesn’t see me. It’s happened a few times in the flying dreams, too.

I looove dreamin’. I have the best adventures.

Anyone have weird dreams lately? That they actually want to share, that is.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Introspective. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dream, Dream, Dream, (When I feel blue)

  1. Searching For a Meaning says:

    A creative dreamer – is a creative thinker!!

    A wonderful post – with a sense of intrigue along the way. Thank you for sharing.

    Much appreciate your very kind comments on my blogpage and it does appear we have a similar thinking – when it comes to dreams too!!

    Will be coming by often too.

    Every good wishes from Scotland.

  2. Sirdar says:

    I don’t have many dreams that I remember. I used to though. Its funny because even in my dreaming state I recognize that I am repeating the dream…kind of like watching a movie I have seen many times before.

  3. my4kids says:

    No weird dreams lately but then I have weird dreams all the time. I still have the first day of school dream every year when school starts usually I can’t find my classes or remember my locker code. Whats really weird is I have these dreams I’m in high school but I have the 4 kids and a hubby, odd….
    I also have the dream I’m being chased but when I try to scream I can’t get any sound out. It’s freaky. Probably good that I can’t get the sound out because according to the hubby if he is awake he knows what I am dreaming about since I talk in my sleep. He says I have been able to scream before and that is definetly not a way he likes to be woken up from a sound sleep.

  4. PortraitofPeter says:

    I am so intrigued by ‘Dreams’ purely for neurological analysis – you understand!!

    You say this dream in particular comes around each month – how do your feel in the days afterwards?

  5. Debbie says:

    Peter – I don’t think the “effect” lasts for days afterwards but certainly for the morning or that one day. If it’s a disturbing dream than I feel little “off balance” – particularly if it was really vivid.

  6. philosophyoflife says:

    Debbie, I am still intrigued of your dreams – do you still have them often?

    Is it one in particular?

    I must admit I have one dream in particular that of being confined within my home due to a raging blizzard outside and as the days continue with no let up – I don’t feel frightened or concerned – more at ease…

    Just thought I would share this with you.

Leave a Reply

