The Important Things in Life

I also bought some canisters at IKEA the other day. The plant and the canisters consumed a part of my afternoon yesterday. 🙂 Silly, I know, but this is important stuff!! Really!
I was trying to figure out the best configuration for the things on my kitchen counter and I think it’s looking cluttered. I moved stuff from left to right and then back again. Stood back, stared, moved things again. For fun. Yes, this is fun to me.
My new canisters.
I moved the tea pot and kettle (items that are used very frequently in my home because of my Englishman) from the left side of the sink to the right side. I don’t want to remove the crock pot even though it takes so much space because it’s another item I use often. I suppose I could remove the food scale. That brown thing above the fruit bowl is a cookbook holder. To use it you pull it down. So, I’m thinking the fruit bowl should be moved.
The plant doesn’t look right there, and it might even be too big. The leaves are in danger of being toasted. I think I want to get rid of the knife block and get a magnetic strip thing.

This is the where my paper monster usually resides. I cleared it off when we had that party, but it’s creeping back now. Those are our school books, etc. and then Adrian’s plant trays.

I’m sure the men are thinking I’m nuts by now! Who cares where all the stuff goes, right?! 😉

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Important Things in Life

  1. Anonymous says:

    i have a set of four copper conisters that you can have.they are smaller then the ones you have.

    sc

  2. Anonymous says:

    hang the plant over the second window,in the play area.

    sc

  3. Jane says:

    They say you should never have a knife block (or sharp knives in at all) out on display……..it is often the first thing someone breaking into your home goes for….to attack with..there was a big thing about this in the UK a few years back…

    For years afterwards I didn’t have my knives in a knife block but in a cupboard with a child lock on it…..but at Christmas we got a new knife set and they are out on display again! I don’t feel comfortable with it though….

  4. Jane says:

    ps I love the cannisters…I can’t stand Ikea furniture, but their smaller things are often nice 🙂

    I like that they remind me of the kind of thing my Grandma had…all that retro stuff is back in…either that or they remind me of the big brad bins they used to have…..nice 🙂 What are they made of? I’m wondering if one of those would be good for the childrens bathroom for their toothbrushes and toothpaste to stand in……

  5. my4kids says:

    We keep our knive put away in a drawer with child locks, I’ve always been a little nervous with the kids around. I like your kitchen though and I agree the plant looks like it is in danger of being toasted!

  6. Anonymous says:

    yes a magnetic strip for the knifes on the right side of the sink would give you some more counter space.

    sc

  7. Steffi says:

    You have a nice kitchen!I saw this conisters still never here by Ikea but maybe you have some diffrent products in Canada at Ikea as here.

  8. Joy T. says:

    Isn’t IKEA the best! Love all their stuff. Great idea with the knives and magnetic strip, I’ve seen it before and it looks very nice in kitchens.

    The canisters are so pretty Debbie, they go great in your kitchen. If they had them in cobalt blue or red I’d be getting me some of those.

    I was going to suggest putting the canisters beside the fruit bowl so they stand out against your green countertops. Against the white tiles they tend to blend in. Show those beauties off :o) I think too many people feel they have to put things right up against the wall. Furniture is one of them. Drives me crazy personally. But maybe you use that counter space to eat on so that would make that idea go out the window. Ah well, I’m sure you’ll move things around a million times before you get them just how you like them. And hopefully the plant doesn’t grow any taller or you might have a decapitation on your hands with the cupboard door. It sure looks pretty there though!

  9. Sirdar says:

    I’m sure the men are thinking I’m nuts by now! Who cares where all the stuff goes, right?! 😉

    Yup!! 🙂

  10. Debbie says:

    I’m not worried about the kids getting at the knives anymore, but the burglery thing is a good point. Hmmmm. I’m having a hard time letting go of the magnetic strip idea, though.

    The cannisters are made of a kind of tin metal type stuff I think. :}
    I’ll have to take a look to see it says on them somewhere, although I doubt it.

    Joy, I do use that counter space quite frequently. The kids might do school work or eat while I putter in the kitchen, Adrian’s tea tray gets plopped there quite often, etc.

    I’ve decided I’m going to get a different (smaller) plant for the kitchen. That is if in a week or so this one is still alive.

  11. Heather says:

    I like your kitchen…especially with all that gorgeous sunshine coming in…I get the paper monster too…it is inevitable with homeschooling! The canisters are nice…I don’t have canisters yet…it would be more convenient. I think you have a beautiful kitchen…I agree…hang the plant in the window…

Leave a Reply

