A Great Book and a Great Movie

Man, I’ve been busy the last few days. I’m sure it’s a sign to come with the season turning towards to spring. I love being outside with the children watching them play and reading my book.

Also, my internet is continuing to act up. During the last several days, it would only work for about a minute at a time. Just enough time for me to open up Explorer and click on a blog. Then it would cut out when I tried to comment. Grrr. This is the longest I’ve been connected in awhile. I hope it gets sorted out soon because it’s very frustrating to be paying $50.00 a month for this kind of service.

I finished my book, The Kite Runner, yesterday. It was a wonderfully tumultuous read with happy, sad, terrifying, and anger provoking parts. I loved the book and would highly recommend it. It’s partially set in Afghanistan, and speaks to some of the issues with the Taliban etc., but it is mostly the story of two boys and their close brother like friendship despite one of the boys being a Hazara servant.

Now, I’ve started a new book. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. I’m looking forward to sinking into the story.

Yesterday while the kids were at school, I did a bunch of errands (getting my new book being one) and then went to visit my friend, M. I hung out there until it was time to pick the kids up from school. As usual, we had a great visit. After she gave me tea and lunch, she and I cuddled up in blankets and watched the movie “Blood Diamond”. Now that is a riveting movie. Leonardo DiCaprio was awesome in it. As well as Djimon Hounsou. What a supberb actor. Watch that movie if you get a chance.

Today, we’re going to do some homeschooling. More math, and then some reading. I think we’ll play a game as well. And then I have laundry to do. Soo much laundry. Ech. I don’t like it, but after watching “Blood Diamond” I realize I certainly could have bigger things to complain about.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Great Book and a Great Movie

  1. PortraitofPeter says:

    Hope you can rectify probs with internet access – we all miss your “postings”,

    Thanks for your review of “The Kite Runner” always good to read reviews before considered buying. And I think I will be looking at the “Blood Diamond” too.

  2. Heather says:

    I’ll have to add “Kite Runner” to my list of books to read…I just finished “The Mermaid Chair” It was pretty good…

Leave a Reply

