Math Game

“Victor Vampire was planning his birthday party. He needed enough food for himself and his three friends, Roger Werewolf, Gloria Ghost, and Zee Dee Zombie. Victor wanted everyone at the party to have three eyeballs for appetizers. Can you draw three eyeballs next to each guest and tell Victor how many eyeballs to buy at the Ghoul Grocery Store?”
And so goes a great math game from Peggy Kaye’s book, “Games for Math“. It’s marvelous because it teaches adding along with the basics for multiplication and division all while having fun. My children loved these number stories today, and we spent a lot of time (perhaps more than we should have) doing them. They loved the story of Victor’s Vampire Birthday and we also did one about six martians coming to earth.
To play: Start out with some characters, like above with Victor and his ghoulish friends. In this case there are four characters. Then you have the children draw three eyeballs per guy and then add them up to get a total. The story in the book continued on with five glasses of blood cocktails each. It got tricky when Victor had sixteen candy-coated monkey guts to divide equally among himself and his friends. In this case they drew out the sixteen monkey guts (little squiggles), and then one by one drew a line from each gut to each guy until they were all “given” out. Then they counted how many each of them got and came to the answer of four.
They enjoyed it so much that I’m sure we’ll be doing it again soon.

It is funny, though. Playing this game just showed me (yet again) how different my children are from each other. Ds was content to quickly sketch out his characters and “treats” while Dd took…her…time…drawing…in…every…detail. Sheesh. I have to remind myself to not rush her along. That’s why I chose to homeschool so that they COULD be individuals, but it doesn’t mean it’s not challenging. Today wasn’t so bad because we were all in a great mood and doing something fun, but when she takes 15 minutes to write out one or two sentences it can wear on a person. Ah well. I love that she is so creative. Today was a great homeschooling day. 😀

Those are magnetic tangrams on the left of the white board. Ds loves them and creates all sorts of shapes. I believe this particular one is a rocket ship.Dividing “monkey guts”.


Dd’s visiting martians.

Here’s where I “encouraged” her to just put two arms per martian because she was lovingly (painfully for me) putting hands, fingers AND nails on…each…arm.
About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Children, Games, Homeschooling, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Math Game

  1. my4kids says:

    I think some of it is a girl thing. The girls take their time with everything we do and are very particullar about drawing in details. The boys never really worried about it. Joshua though is suddenly really getting into art and drawing so he is taking a little more time. I will have to post one of his drawings sometime.

  2. PortraitofPeter says:

    So amazing detailed drawings – your daughter obviously looks for details in her art.

    Your son looks for the link – hence a spreadsheet connection.

    Luv the photo’s and those boards are a marvel for all topics and ideal in a maths setting too.

    Thanks for sharing – even if I do tremble at the word “Maths”.

    Hope you all will have a wonderful weekend – any cycle rides planned?

  3. Debbie says:

    M4K – The girl/boy thing probably does have a little to do with it, but my daughter does many things slowly! Schoolwork, brushing her teeth, putting on her shoes, getting dressed, etc. 🙂 Most days it’s cute and endearing, and then other days….well – not so much!

    I love seeing children’s art. I look forward to seeing one of his drawings.

    My son can be into details when he wants to, but not with the drawings of people. He likes to draw wires and pipes leading here and there in the picture. Underground homes. I love them because he has an explanation for it all.

    Peter – Oh yeah, we’ll be cycling this weekend. 🙂

  4. PortraitofPeter says:

    Thanks Debbie – for your section on “The Books I love”.

    I have heard of Anne Lamott, and there was a review sometime ago in our Sunday review.

    I think the book “Bird by Bird” looks really appealing – any thoughts yourself?

  5. Heather says:

    Looks like a fun activity for the kids.

    I love doing things that my kids think are fun and enjoy to do…that is when the real learning starts happening!!

  6. Steffi says:

    It´s good when children learn math with games.I think so they learn it better.

    Have a nice sunny weekend,dear Debbie with your family!

Leave a Reply

