Camping in the Mountains

I’ve gotta say that every time I click on this new blog and the page appears on the screen I feel happy.  I think it’s pretty.  It’s a lovely blue and I really like the picture I chose for the header.  I took it when we were in Jasper last year.  Oh dear, I used to know the name of the mountain but I totally forget now.  The river is the Athabasca.  I know that at least!  :}   

We’d been staying in a lovely secluded campground.  Lots of trees.  There weren’t hook-ups which meant not many big trailers or moterhomes.  There are actually several of these kinds of campgrounds about half hour out of Jasper up Highway 93A.  Growing up we always went to the large ones so I didn’t know these existed until I did a search on the internet. 

We camped there for a few days.  The day we were leaving, we’d packed up and then decided at the last minute to take a walk down the trail that was leading away from our campsite.  We’d been looking at the head of this trail for two days, but hadn’t taken the time to follow it.  The kids kept asking to go so we did finally.

It was beautiful.  Quiet with plenty of tall tress lining the winding path.  We didn’t know where were it was going to lead, and I was expecting it to loop back on itself or come out to another part of the campground.  We were shocked when it came out to the river and this breathtaking view of the mountain.  And to think, we had almost not walked down that path.  We stayed there for quite awhile walking up and down the shore and gazing up at that majestic site.  I grew up going to the mountains, but they steal my breath away each time and leave me with a feeling of awe.

We loved staying there, but we were in bear country.  For any of you who’ve been to Jasper you might recall the little pamphlet they give you informing you of what to do if you come upon a bear or if a bear comes upon you.  Normally, we give it a cursery glance and move on. 

The second day we were there, however, a bear walked right through our campsite.  The picture below is the best I got because, frankly, I was too busy running away.  That pamphlet became required reading for us suddenly.  This bear kept coming back, too.  At night while we were peacefully playing monopoly at the picnic table it passed by our site again.  And then another time we saw it coming back from the outhouse.

I prefer seeing the bears on the side of the road from the safety of my vehicle, thank-you.

bear3.jpg

 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Camping, Photos, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Camping in the Mountains

  1. poeticscot says:

    I so luv the header too – it looks just so relaxing.

    Is the mountain – Whistlers Mountain?

    Must admit – camping in that location would be so idyllic with a campfire and the stars, as well as the trek along the trails.

    Although – I so agree about the bears – I don’t think I would have been even that close to take a photo 😯

    I wonder what a bear would make of my cherry & vanilla – pipe tobacco – with such a sweet aroma – I just don’t fancy a bear hug – even if she has ‘sweet’ breath 😉

  2. Dawn says:

    A lovely post and explanation of your header. I am totally amazed at at that bear. Not only did it come to visit regularly, but it used the outhouse. Now I am no expert on bears, but that is a strange phenomenon 😀 .

    Sounds like a great trip.

  3. Debbie says:

    LOLOL!! I guess I should have said, “We saw it while WE were coming back from the outhouse.” Ah writing. One flub up and it changes the whole meaning of a sentence. he he he

  4. Joy T. says:

    No no don’t explain the outhouse. Let everyone think he was coming from it…and YOU were the one’s to see it 🙂 First time over at your new digs and I love it. The blue is so pretty. And your header matches it beautifully. Which I’m sure in your deep subconcious was maybe planned while you were taking the picture all those months ago. Ya right.

  5. Sirdar says:

    So they have potty trained bears in Jasper? That must be what they are doing in the town too. Oh wait..those are Elk. Elk must be better trained as they can use the washrooms in town 🙂

    Oh…we want to know…was the bear female or male? Which outhouse did it come out of?

  6. my4kids says:

    There are bears, coyotes and mountain lion where we go camping and at night you can hear them. Thats cool you got a picture of it….even if it was before running away.

  7. Carla says:

    Lovely header, it’s beautiful. That bear seems a little close for comfort. I can’t believe him just wondering like that. I think he would make me a little nervous.

  8. Steffi says:

    I love your header too! It looks really beautiful and quiet to relax. And that´s Canada for me!

  9. Pamela says:

    Does the pamphlet tell you to hold your hands up and scream loud or what???

  10. Pamela says:

    sounds like the bear was using the outhouse.

  11. beccy says:

    I don’t think I’d like to be that close to a bear!

  12. poeticscot says:

    I must be getting slow in my ‘senior’ years – just realised what everyone is talking about 😯

    So bear’s are hygenic in Canada and use the ‘outhouse’ – way to go 😆

    I just hope they male bears remember to lift up the seat 😉

  13. Debbie says:

    Peter – Thank-you. I think the mountain is Kerkeslin.

    Joy – You know it. I AM that good. 😉

    Sirdar – Oh. ha ha. 🙂

    Terri – That does not sound very relaxing! eek.

    Carla – Thank-you. He made me a lot nervous!

    Steffi – Thak-you. It does give a good impression of Canada, doesn’t it?

    Pamela – LOL! It basically tells you not to run, and be calm. Pretty much the opposite of what I did.

    Beccy – I didn’t want to be either!! 😉

    Peter – It’s okay. I often miss what’s goin’ on!

Leave a Reply

