Technical Difficulties

It’s gonna be hot today.  31 C, they say.  Whew.  Oh yeah.  There will be some pool time.  There might also be some holing up in the basement time, too.

I figured out how to import the content from the Blogspot blog over to here.  Sirdar was right.  It wasn’t difficult.  I did it with my other blog (Gratitude Attitude), too.

I’m a little annoyed with the picture thing, though.  I thought I had it figured out, but it turns out that I don’t.  (Remember that the pictures on this blog – except one or two – are those that have been imported.)    When I add a picture to a post it either comes up too large or too small.  And now I see what Dawn was talking about, too.  It’s difficult to write around it.  I hope I get it figured out because I like my new home, but if I can’t post pictures than I can’t stay.  I love posting pictures!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Technical Difficulties

  1. Carla says:

    I agree, you have to be able to post pictures. I love the pictures. It’s hot here too…and it’s suppose to get up to 40C by next week. Yikes! Not sure yet what I’m going to do to stay cool. Any suggestions?

  2. poeticscot says:

    I usually use the following:

    http://www.blogdesk.org/en/index.htm

    It is ideal for drafting up posts and can include several pictures at varying sizes and you can then publish from the BD direct to your own blog.

    I downloaded BD (blogdesk) onto my laptop so that I could do the above. Obviously I am still learning the process and my pictures I keep small anyway – but you can have them much larger and several too.

    Obviously Sirdar, will be able to assist you further and which set up he uses.

    Good Luck

  3. Dawn says:

    I am starting to get the hang of it but it isn’t perfected yet. We put our photos on Desktop, then import them from there, and the ones on desktop are put in trash. You can type beside the photo by going into code and after the indication ‘jpg’, type align=”left”. That puts the words left of the photo and they will continue until the end of the photo. I ran into trouble when I wanted to end the words before the photo and write something else separate as when we were doing Z’s poem beside the photo and wanted to start the paragraph below. We eventually made the photo smaller by clicking on the corners and going in, until it was the size that worked. I think it looked pretty good. I had a problem with my TT post in that the one photo was a different format. Sirdar could have fixed it, but wasn’t here. I will get it eventually. I am leaning more each day. If you want Sirdar to help you out, he will be happy too. He likes that sort of thing. Sorry this is so long.

  4. Sirdar says:

    Debbie: The reason the pictures come up too large or too small is because what you update is the size it is on your blog. Blogger automatically adjusts the size of the pictures. WordPress doesn’t. What you need to do is to resize the picture to something around 400×300 or so. Then it will fit no problem. I an sure your camera software can do that or some other photo software. If you or Adrian have trouble figuring out how to do that I can help.

    Oh…and what Dawn told you to do was sort of correct. After xxxx.jpg” put in align=”left” or align=”right”. What that does is force the jpg to the left or right margin and you can then add text to the side of them pictures. you then have to hit return to get to the end of the picture before the text goes under it. There are other tricks too but play with that and see what it does. Here is a good primer for you: http://www.usd.edu/trio/tut/html/page.shtml

  5. Steffi says:

    Enjoy your hot day with your kids on the pool! Here say said at the news we want receive 40°C on this weekend in same areas of Germany! I hate heat…
    Have a nice weekend!

  6. Debbie says:

    Thanks, everyone, for the technical support! I appreciate it. I’ll let ya know how it goes. 🙂

  7. Debbie says:

    Carla – 40!!!! I’m sorry – no suggestions. Going to some sort of body of water and submerging yourself is all I can com up with.

    Good Luck!

    Peter – Your help is always welcomed and appreciated.

    Dawn – I love long comments. No apologies, and appreciate your explanation.

    Sirdar – Thanks for link. I’ve been looking to learn more about html.

    Steffi – Thanks! I agree, though, 40 is way too hot.

  8. poeticscot says:

    You’re welcome and you can also place text between the photo’s too.

    Although sure you know that already 😕

    I think what I like about blogdesk it is more simplistic and that’s all one needs sometimes.

    Enjoy learning 🙂

Leave a Reply

