Chore Time

I’ve started the kids on a new chore system. The system itself is courtesy of Dawn. She was over one evening and I picked her brain on the matter. I just love knowing moms with older kids. Especially when the kids are as great as hers are. Oh, I suppose I should give some credit to Sirdar, too! 😉

My kids have always had to pick up after themselves, set the table and clear it, and help-out generally when I ask them. But. They haven’t had a regular set of chores assigned to them. Yes, I know. I’ve likely dropped the ball on the matter. Well, I’m picking it up now so don’t give me a hard time! 🙂

Annnyway. The system is a rotating one and it starts off slowly with just doing dishes. One week one child does the washing and one does the drying and then they trade tasks the next week. After they’ve got that down, I’ll begin adding tasks to the Washer’s and Dryer’s duties. Sweeping, mopping, vaccuuming, etc.

The idea was to start on July 1st.  It’s been challenging, though, because our evenings have been such a mish mash. Sometimes we don’t get to the dishes in the evening. Yes, it’s true! I often let the dishes wait. On those nights the kids have been getting out of the chore.  But now it’s dawned on me that they can still do the dishes in the morning. How ’bout that??

So, here they are. And they’re not even complaining. Actually,this whole chore thing hasn’t met as much resistance as I was expecting.

Thanks, Dawn!

Pool 087

Pool 090

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chore Time

  1. poeticscot says:

    What a great idea – and judging by the photo’s – certainly no objections being raised. 😉

    Now – what are you going to do – whilst the children are doing all the chores 8)

  2. Carla says:

    It looks like they are already well trained. Lucky you!

  3. my4kids says:

    I wish I could get my kids to do a chore system without so much fight. They have chores but they argue with me every step of the way!

  4. beccy says:

    You’re great to set the chore system up. My children are pretty good at doing things when they’re asked but I know I don’t ask them enough!

  5. Steffi says:

    Very good idea ! I agree with Beccy too.

  6. Dawn says:

    Thanks Debbie for you kind comments. As you know, I have found the system to work just great, and once they know what is expected, and have the routine down, it can work like a charm. I am glad there is less resistance than anticipated.

  7. Debbie says:

    Peter – I guess I’ll have to take a picture of them when/if they do complain!

    Funny you should ask what I’ll be doing. That is exactly what J asked me. “Are you just going to be sitting there while we do the dishes?” I had to laugh…and then promptly point all of the other things that get done in the house while they’re just “sitting there”. 🙂

    Carla – Well, so far so good.

    Terri – I’m sure we’ll have days like that, too!

    Beccy – That’s exactly what it was/is like with us. It’s not like they’ve had a fee ride all of this time. They’ve been expected to do things when we ask them, but I know I didn’t ask them enough.

    Steffi – It is a good idea, heh? Dawn – she’s a smart gal! 😉

    Dawn – You’re so welcome. I hope the less resistance thing continues!

  8. Joy T. says:

    How come I’m always the last to comment. Story of my life. Glad to see Dawn’s system is working for you.

  9. Sirdar says:

    Thanks for including me in the credit department…but in reality it is Dawn who sets that up and monitors it. Oh…I do get to be Dad when mom is doing something else of gone somewhere as I try to make sure they get their chores done.

    Glad it is working out for you. It will work for you when they realize that “Resistance is Futile!” 🙂 (Apologies to the Borg on that one…)

  10. Debbie says:

    Joy – Me too!

    Sirdar – I love the reference, and seeing as R loves Star Trek I’ll have to use it on him! 🙂

Leave a Reply

