Childhood Friendship

I missed this past Fun Monday topic which was about best friends but as I was going through different blogs and reading their submissions I became inspired. 

For two or three years, between the ages of ten and twelve, my best friend was Andrea.  She and I had a very special bond, and that bond was Barbies!  We were Barbie fanatics and we played them constantly – every day after school and all weekend.  If we had a sleep-over we’d play into all hours of the night. 

The story lines were intricate.  They were modelled after healthy television shows such as the…Soap Operas!  Oh yes.  Our Barbies were often involved in major love triangles.  This was mostly due to the fact that while we had several Barbies we only had two Ken Dolls.  In fact, the day that Andrea got a Michael Jackson doll was exciting because suddenly we had another guy for the Barbies to fawn over.  (if only we knew then what we know now!)  And true to Soap Opera style, the love courtships would last for several hours of play before that dramatic first kiss would take place.  Of course, there weren’t only love stories happening.  No.  We had evil, backstabbing, boyfriend stealing sister plots as well.

I wonder if our parents would’ve been so happy about our Barbie playing if they knew where our imaginations were taking us!

The Barbie bond kept us close friends for those couple of years.  I think because we were actually at an age where it wasn’t cool to play with Barbies anymore.  Our other friends didn’t even know that was what we were playing all of the time. 

Soon enough, though, the teenage years kicked in and real boys and soap opera like dramas replaced the Barbie ones in our lives.  The bond we had together diminished and, sadly, so too did our friendship.

During highschool,  I would see her pass by in the halls and we might talk, but we didn’t hang out in the same crowd.  We never became friends again.  But I still remember fondly all of those hours spent side by side with her, crouching on the floor, playing Barbies. 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Childhood Friendship

  1. Joy T. says:

    I’m sure there are a lot of people in the world who can relate to this story. Everyone’s always moving in different directions.

  2. my4kids says:

    My friend and I used to have love triangles with our barbies and Ken dolls also. I agree if only our parents knew what kind of play we had with those dolls.

  3. poeticscot says:

    Oh how sweet 🙂 and yet so very sad that the friendship drifted away as one moves on 😦

  4. Emma says:

    My cousin and I did the exact same thing!

  5. Debbie says:

    Joy – I’m very sure you’re right. I was actually going to post that while I have a couple of really close friends that have been in my life a long time, I have others that seem to move in and out depending on the period of time. Ex. teen years, pre-kids, babies, etc.

    Terri – Yes, I think our Barbies were our intro into sex ed!

    Peter – It is bitter sweet, but that’s how it is when you grow up. 🙂

    Emma – Funny! Probably many young girls did. At least the ones whose mothers allowed them to watch the soaps!

  6. Pamela says:

    never tooo late to contact her. You might be surprised at her reaction.

    Tell her you have a new Barbie Doll!!!

  7. beccy says:

    I never had a Barbie, I had Sindy instead and she was way cooler! (At least that’s what I thought at the time).

  8. Steffi says:

    Really nice story Debbie!!I enjoyed it too read! Nice story about your best friend and very interesting.I wished in my childhood always a barbie doll!But unfortunately where I lived we can´t buy this dolls only in the western part of Germany and at my childhood were there a big borderline between East-and West Germany.Nobody thought at this time that this big wall fall someday in future and the border is open.

  9. Dawn says:

    That is a great story and so true of friendships of that age group. The thing with kids spending time together is to learn how to make friends, so that when they are adults, they know how to be a friend. Your friend was truly instrumental in making you the good friend you are.

  10. Debbie says:

    Pamela – Actually, I did see her once as an adult. We had a nice time catching up, but the connection just wasn’t there.

    Beccy – Sindy? I don’t think I’ve heard of her. Did she have better accessories? 😉

    Steffi – Thank-you. I sometimes forget where exactly you grew up. What dolls did you have available?

    Dawn – Thank-you!! What a kind compliment. 🙂

  11. Heather says:

    I often wonder about my old friends as a child…it does seem like people go separate paths…even friends I had when My kids were babies we have gone different ways because of different interests…just life I guess…

  12. Carla says:

    It’s always interesting to look at those things that bring us together and then wonder why we sometimes drift apart. I have a few friends that I wonder whatever happened.

  13. Debbie says:

    Heather – People just drift apart sometimes. Like you said, just life. 🙂

    Carla – It is interesting. As I was writing this I thought of a few other friends that this has happened with, but then others where I’m very confident that we’ll never lose touch.

  14. beccy says:

    When I was a child the thing was to have only one doll, (unlike my daughter who must have had at least 10 Barbies). I had ballerina Sindy, but I had cool accessories, a working bath, a bedroom set, a hair dryer that she sat under. I spent hours playing with her.

  15. Debbie says:

    Beccy – Those accessories sound cool! Too bad they’re not available now…or are they? It seems to me that the real cool toys are the ones that get discontinued.

Leave a Reply

