Rest In Peace, Doodle

Monday afternoon, my children along with a friend that was over to play rescued a little wren from the jowls of our cat, Max. The three children became quickly invested in the bird’s survival and made him a little box home and named him Doodle. I was quick to tell them that the bird’s chances of survival were quite slim because Max likely gave him a good squeeze and could have caused internal injury. After a short time, however, the little guy perked up, but still wasn’t flying away and seemed to have an injured leg. I decided to do some research on the internet about injured birds and found the phone number to a Wildlife Rehabilitation centre close by. I called them and they told me that we could bring the bird in. So, we did.

When I called the next day to check up on little Doodle, they told me that he was doing well. He was on antibiotics for his injured leg and was in a cage with five other wrens. They also said that if he does rehabilitate well that we could release him back here. This morning when I called to check up on him they unfortunately told me that he had passed away in the night. This happens to the little guys, she said, partly because of the stress of being fed by humans and possible internal injury inflicted upon by my cat.

My dad would think it’s ridiculous taking this much effort to care for a little wild bird since he grew up on a farm. It is the way of nature, of course. And I did see the slight humour in my driving over 30 km with an injured wren and then him being on antibiotics for goodness sake. But we came to care for the little guy. I didn’t take a picture of him though for some reason. All I have are these two. The one right before we dropped him off and the other of the box the children decorated.

Pool 130

Pool 131

“Doodle the bird. The lucky bird who escaped a cat!”

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Children, Nature, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Rest In Peace, Doodle

  1. poeticscot says:

    Oh how very sweet of the kids to give every comfort to the wee “doodle”, and equally your caring response to drive to the rescue centre with the wee bird too.

    Such delightful photo’s and creative home for “Doodle”.

    How sad 😥 “Doodle” had passed away.

    I guess that is why I would never have a cat, as I love to see birds in my garden and especially during the winter months, when they relish the treats left out for them.

    A thoughful post and all credit to both you and the kids for such a ‘caring’ response 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    ahhh that is so sweet…what a great life learning experience for your kids!

  3. Heather says:

    meant to add…sorry Doodle didn’t make it…

  4. beccy says:

    I’m glad you tried to rescue him and gave him a chance.

  5. Steffi says:

    Yes,I agree with Beccy too!And what for a beautiful painted picture!I like it and I hope you hang on this picture on a especial place in your house!

  6. my4kids says:

    To bad Doodle passed away but its so sweet that you guys tried! The poor birds that fall victim to my cats don’t stand a chance.

  7. Carla says:

    That’s so sad about poor little Doodle. I had a bird hit my window the other day and wasn’t sure whether or not he would come to. He sure had the wind knocked out of him. I love the picture your children drew. That’s so precious.

  8. Pamela says:

    I have a cat — even with the knowledge that they are an introduced enemy to birds… in addition to the natural predators they face.

    I don’t know of anyway to stop cats from stalking birds either.

    Poor little wren. Love to hear their big voices singing from their itty bitty bodies.

  9. poeticscot says:

    How about fitting a ‘wee’ bell on Max’s collar – at least the birds should hopefully hear him.

  10. Debbie says:

    We are sad for the little wren, but we’re also realistic. Max is wonderful at catching mice. Living on an acreage we really appreciate that about him. I’ve know him to kill birds before, but usually by the time we see them they’re already dead. I certainly wish he’d just stick to mice, but, for some reason, he just won’t listen to reason! 😉

    The difference with this wren is that they found him alive, and not able to fly off. I couldn’t in good conscience tell the kids to just leave it to die on its own. While I’m a realist I can also be a bleeding heart! I want to teach my kids kindness and empathy. So we went the extra mile this time. 🙂

    It is a lovely little story. The kids were disappointed but not devastated since I was preparing them for this likelihood from the very beginning.

    Peter – I won’t put a bell on him because it might interfere with his mouse hunting. 🙂

  11. Joy T. says:

    Sorry to hear Doodles didn’t make it. Nature sucks sometimes.

  12. Heather says:

    This morning when we were getting ready to leave for baseball we heard a thump on the window and looked out and there was a beautiful woodpecker knocked out below the window and seconds later Ripley trying to pick it up. We yelled at Ripley and she went a few feet away and laid there watching the limp woodpecker. Sadly the woodpecker was not able to survive a window pane and our dog. I agree with Joy…Nature sucks sometimes…

  13. Debbie says:

    Joy and Heather – I agree as well. You just have to watch any nature show to know it, heh? It is a delicate balance that works, though. 🙂

  14. Dawn says:

    Sad about Doodle, but the memories are priceless. We have been on many a rescue mission too. It is good to develop compassion in our children.

Leave a Reply

