We had a good trip…

Thank-you for all of your well-wishing comments. πŸ˜€

We went to the Rocky Mountain House area for our latest camping trip. It wasn’t our best trip but we did have a nice time none-the-less.

Adrian originally wanted to take us to the lake where he’d recently taken a canoe certification course. It wasn’t at a campground, though, which means no bathrooms. Now listen. I’m not pampered – I can rough it. In fact, we never used to stay in campgrounds before we had children, but these days going “number 2” over a log just doesn’t have the same appeal it used to. I don’t need anything fancy, however. An outhouse will do for me.

We decided to take a look at nearby campgrounds – ones with outhouses. The two that were within minutes of the first lake were right off the highway and since we prefer more secluded spots we decided to keep looking. The next campground we tried was a twenty kilometre drive down a gravel road. While the campground was lovely, the lake that it was situated on was pretty weedy. I was hoping the kids could do some swimming, but the lake didn’t look ideal. So, we moved on up the gravel road. (am I sounding picky yet?)

Back on the highway, we were discussing heading on to Nordegg. A lovely area, but another hour’s drive away at least. As we began driving, we decided to try one last campground. It had a lovely lake, quiet treed-in sites, AND an outhouse. Yeah! And none to soon because Adrian was beginning to lose his cheerful demeanor. He actually didn’t want to come on the trip in the first place. He wanted to spend his one week vacation at home. In fact, it took him a little while to snap out of his “this trip sucks” mood. But once we got all set up, he did snap out it, and we began to relax and enjoy ourselves.

Camping 001

J doing her new favourite pass time. Looking for frogs to catch.

Camping 017

Camping 021

Adrian and the kids on the hunt for a good fishing spot.

Camping 016

We forgot the adapter which allows us to hook up our stove to the propane. This is Adrian showing off his over-the-fire cooking skills while making a heart healthy breakfast. πŸ˜‰

Camping 022

The children fishing at sunset. Or, rather, J fishing. She seems to love it while R…not so much.

Camping 024

Adrian fishing.

The first morning (around 5:30 am) that I got up to go the outhouse there was a flock of Canadian Geese making themselves at home in the campground while foraging for food. It was lovely to be so close to them. Of course, I didn’t have my camera since I don’t usually take it with me on early morning trips to the outhouse. The next morning they were there again, though, so I went back to retrieve it. Everyone else in the campground was asleep. It was just me and the geese.

Camping 035

Camping 031

Camping 071

Camping 038

Camping 039

Camping 041

Camping 044

Camping 057

Camping 066

Camping 085

Camping 089

This puts “catching the big one” to a whole new level! πŸ˜‰

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Camping, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to We had a good trip…

  1. poeticscot says:

    I cannot blame all of you – just up sticks and enjoy the amazing outdoors πŸ™‚

    What great scenery and the weather – is just so wonderful too.

    You always take amazing photo’s and I luv to see them πŸ™‚ Now who forgot the adapter πŸ˜•

    As to your earlier “over a log” as an outhouse – a little too much detail 😯 – one is not accustomed to such 😯

    To say I am just so so envious πŸ‘Ώ I cannot deny, but hey – outdoor life looks so cool and with such enjoyment all close-by – make every day count πŸ™‚

    Just remember – the ironing – will be waiting – back at home πŸ˜†

  2. Dawn says:

    Well, Canadian Geese on the way to the outhouse is better than a bear coming out of the outhouse. I must tell you, if you want to see such geese, go to Wabamun Provincial Park. You see so many geese, and with geese, is number two over a log, on the beach, in the grass, in the playground… well, you get my drift. Looks like you had a great time. Great photos as usual.

  3. Sirdar says:

    Great pics of the camping. Glad you found a nice place with a campground. I would need an outhouse too so I feel your pain πŸ™‚

  4. Steffi says:

    Wonderful pictures again!ThatΒ΄s free canadian life and I wish I where there too.

  5. poeticscot says:

    ~ Fishing ~

    Fishing in the twilight
    Of a summer’s day
    A lake so peaceful
    Picture the scene.

    Tranquil just sitting
    You and I
    Waiting for a bite
    Just make it
    A big one.

    Sky clear of cloud
    Cool is the breeze
    Summer twilight
    Canada bliss.

    When the fish bite
    A campfire a glow
    Will Dad make
    For the fish
    I have caught
    Just wait and see.

    Away from crowds
    At one with nature
    Smell the air
    Clean and free.

    Fishing on a lake
    Just you and me
    Waiting and waiting
    Patiently I do
    At least.

    Enjoy the scene
    Tranquil and free
    And even Mum
    is allowed reluctantly
    With her
    Camera too 😯

    ** NEWS FLASH **

    BIG FOOT – captured by Al β€˜J’ Capone and her aid β€˜R’ πŸ™‚

  6. Robinella says:

    Great photos! Love the one with Dad in the net with kids. Priceless.

  7. Debbie says:

    Peter – It’s just the facts of life. And – ironing? Who says I iron?

    Dawn – Yes, I’d definitly prefer to see geese on MY way to the outhouse. πŸ˜‰ And, of course, you’re right about seeing birdy number two’s everywhere!

    Sirdar – I was happy to find a nice spot to camp and the outhouse was even pretty clean.

    Steffi – Thank-you. πŸ™‚ I hope one day you’ll come for a visit.

    Peter – Lovely poem. With a SLIGHTLY humerous jab at the end. πŸ˜‰

    Robinella – Thanks. That is a cute one. πŸ™‚

  8. poeticscot says:

    Debbie – what NO Ironing 😯

    I suppose that is why you go camping = in secluded areas πŸ˜‰

  9. Heather says:

    Great pictures! Love the geese…looks like you had a great trip!!!

  10. Joy T. says:

    Looks like a great trip. I used to love camping but not any more. Now I like nice hotels, big comfy cushy beds…..and room service πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

