Time Flies

It’s Tuesday night…for those of you who don’t know how to read a calendar.  😉 I guess I’ve been busy, but then again.  Not so much.  Like I said on the previous post, Friday night we went to see the Harry Potter movie.  Then on Saturday, it rained all day so I started reading the newest Harry Potter book.  And that’s pretty much what I did all day.  I got so much Harry Potter on the brain I even dreamed about the characters that night:  Mad-eye Moody and I were trying to escape from “You know Who“.  The chase was close, and I was just about to cast a killing curse at him when…”Mommy!  I can’t sleep.”  Grr.  That always happens during a good dream.  How do the kids know the precise wrong time to wake me up??

After I spent pretty much the whole day on my butt reading we got a call from our friendly neighbourhood -uh- neighbours.  That would be Dawn and Sirdar.  They invited us for a fire.  We gladly accepted the invite.  The weather cleared and we had a lovely evening around the fire.  As usual, my kids had a superb time.  While we there, Dawn told us that she was having another gathering the next night and kindly invited us again.  This time she was having some of her fellow homeschool friends over.  I don’t know that many homeschoolers so I was happy for the opportunity to meet some new people with a similar interest.  My friends and family usually humour me and listen when I talk about homeschooling, but I’ve found (so far) the only people who don’t get bored talking about homeschooling are…other homeschoolers!  Talk of curriculum, daily school routines, field trips, and the latest home experiment can be enthralling conversation.  Definitely not topics to yawn at or give responses like “Hhmmmmm.  Verrry interesting.  Now what else is new?”  I write this with the greatest of fondness for my friends/family who are very supportive, but still don’t find discussions on the best phonics program to be the least bit interesting.  🙂

Sunday evening we tried out our new wood burning pool heater.  It was a perfect night since it was cloudy and kind of cool.  It did its job, though, and heated the pool to a balmy 29 degrees C.  Since then I’ve been a pool heating fool.  We’re not usually able to swim much in August because it’s too chilly, but now we’re just lovin’ the warm water. 

My parents came over for a visit Monday evening.  We invited them to taste the chocolate cake the kids had made that afternoon.  It was their first attempt and it turned out pretty well.  Mom came in the pool with the kids and I while dad and Adrian visited in the house.  We had a wonderful time in the pool and didn’t get out until after 8:00 that night. 

Tonight, I finished the HP book.   I think it’s the best one of the series.  Very gripping throughout. 

I don’t know what the rest of the week has in store.  I have some tentative play dates planned, but the weather is due to turn rainy.  We’ll have to think of some indoor alternatives, I guess.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Time Flies

  1. Pamela says:

    our friends in the blue mtns have a wood heated pool, too.

    thinking about building a fire this time of year is causing me to sweat

  2. Heather says:

    First off you started the HP book after I did and you are finished already??? Grrrr! 😉 I’m only a third of a way done…I blame my yard I’m trying to put in….

    I understand you about others not “getting” homeschooling…it’s always good to get with people who “get it”!!!

    Heated pool??? Sooooo Jealous!!!

  3. Debbie says:

    Pamela – We can have some cooler temps in August here. Low twenties. Still nice, but makes an unheated pool pretty chilly!

    Heather – Very good excuse! Working on the yard. Like I said, I pretty sat on my butt all day Saturday and read. I don’t get when people can read a whole book in a day! I just can’t read that fast. 🙂

  4. Steffi says:

    My kids were yesterday in the cinema to watch a Harry Potter movie.The new HP book we have still not here because at the moment you can buy here only the english version.
    How was your visit by Dawn and Sirdar?I ´m sure funny!

  5. Dawn says:

    Our girls enjoyed your heated pool also, one went over Sunday, two on Monday. It is true about talking shop with people who are in the same shop. It was great to have you over both evenings.

  6. poeticscot says:

    Looks like you had a great weekend and an ideal opportunity to catch up on HP book.

    Pleased your heater for the pool is working great and given the fact you stayed in the pool until 8 – proves it must be warm 🙂

    Hope you are still learning the ropes of the ‘Washing-Line’ 😉 Sure Dawn will have given you some tips – during your pit-fire mystique 😉

  7. Swamp Witch says:

    I want to come visit to escape this heat. The pool sounds so inviting. I’ll bring my own towel.

  8. Debbie says:

    Steffi – How long does it usually take for a book to come out in German?

    Our visit was great. We really enjoy their company.

    Dawn – We enjoyed having them here! The kids get so excited when I say they’re coming over.

    Peter – It WAS a great weekend. A nice mix of busyness and relaxing.
    And yup. Dawn showed me “the ropes” when it came to the wash line.

    Swamp Witch – Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to bring a floatie!

  9. my4kids says:

    My kids always have a way of coming in right when I’m in the best part of a good dream also!
    I’m hoping to meet some homeschool moms when we get to Ketchikan that would help me alot.

Leave a Reply

