Bad Akismet – Bad

There is this thing called Akismet that is used by WordPress to block spam comments.  When a comment has been deemed “spam” it doesn’t show up on the blog.  Instead it goes to the Akismet section in our Dashboard.  The owner of the blog must click on the said comment and click “de-spam” and then the comment will show up. 

For the past week or so my comments to both my own blog and other WordPress blogs have been targeted as spam.  It’s not such a big deal to me for my own blog.  I just de-spam my comments and then they show up.  What is a pain is that my comments won’t show up on other WordPress blogs that I visit either and unless that person thinks to check their Akismet section regularly (and who would?) my comment will likely remain in spam limbo.  This may not be a huge loss to the blogger 😉 but it is annoying to me.

What is particularly irritating is that I thought the problem finally fixed itself.  You see – apparently the more the comments are de-spammed the quicker the program “learns” not to target the comments in the first place.

Yesterday my comments appeared no problem.  Then, tonight, I commented on Dawn’s blog and it didn’t show up again.  Grrrr.  I’m beginning to think that Sirdar has the right idea.  😉

AND to top it off.  I tried to sign up for Fun Monday, but the host has a WordPress blog.  My comment is sitting there in Akismet hell right now!  👿

*Update*  It does SEEM to be fixed now.  I just hope I haven’t jinxed it now!  😉

*Update #2* The stupid thing seems to have a mind of its own.  One time my comment goes through fine and the next it doesn’t.  Dumb Akismet.  😡

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bad Akismet – Bad

  1. giveitatry says:

    Ahh, yes, but I found your comment! You are signed up for fun Monday!!

  2. Debbie says:

    Hey!! Thanks! How efficient you are. 😀

  3. poeticscot says:

    It is a bummer!! I thought the problem had been rectified and then found another comment in ‘spam’ – I wonder are ‘PG Rated 😉

    Just keep sending comments and see if it learns – I always check my ‘spam’ for your comments 😆

  4. Dawn says:

    Hey, there is no spam in Akismet, my lucky day. If you did the comment on my fun Monday, Sirdar may have unspammed it. If it was on my Tuesday post, it must be out in cyberspace because it isn’t in my Akismet (or at least not yet).

  5. debsgr8r says:

    I checked my Akismet to see if maybe it was taking all my intended comments as spam too. Alas, there’s no spam there nor are there any legit ones on my posts. Lucky day, it says. I don’t think so. Look on the bright side, you’re getting comments. LOL. That aside, I totally feel you. Perhaps a comment to the admin will help…

  6. poeticscot says:

    Come to think I have not had any comments from you for a couple of days 😦

  7. poeticscot says:

    Great – your comment arrived as normal – no ‘de-spam’ 🙂

  8. poeticscot says:

    I guess – spoke too soon 😦

    Found all your comments in spam – today 😦

    I guess Askimet – is a little unsure of you 😉

    What have you done 😯

  9. debsgr8r says:

    ***Grrr, I’ve been checking akismet more frequently to see if any of my comments went astray. Unfortunately, I’ve caught a few…all of which were yours. Today, I “de-spammed” another comment from you and deleted the rest. As luck would have it, it didn’t de-spam yours and deleted them all, yours included. I’m sorry. Bad Akismet-Baaaaaaaad!

  10. Debbie says:

    Yes it is frustrating. Thanks for checking and de-spamming me. 🙂 Apprarently, this is a problem that wordpress is aware of.

  11. my4kids says:

    I don’t think blogger has anything like that but it makes me wonder if my comments to people with wordpress have ever landed in Akismet. I like that word for some reason though…

Leave a Reply

