Smile Box

I saw this on some one’s blog recently. These aren’t new pictures, but I wanted to try the thing out. 🙂  When you push play it just shows you the picture below larger and plays music.  Then you click on the pictures on the right to see them larger in the middle.

This was free, but you could pay 5 bucks a month and you get some kind of premium package where you can print the pages.  If you like digital scrap booking this might be a good deal?  I dunno.  Does anyone know of other digital scrapbook programs? 

I don’t scrapbook.  I like the idea of it, but where to keep all of that paper and scrap booking paraphernalia?  I’ve got enough clutter to contend with in my house. 

I do like to make little photo albums for my mother-in-law in England, though.  I made one for her last Christmas, and it took me a month.  Something that you could just plug pictures into would be way easier.  And I suppose my mom would like an album too, once in awhile! 

Stay Cool
Powered by Smilebox
Click to play | Make your own Smilebox
About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Children, crafts, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Smile Box

  1. poeticscot says:

    Hey, that is a great idea and you have captured the ‘summer’ with the music and the photo’s of the kids too.

    A wonderful surprise for relatives overseas.

    I have never seen anything like it before – just shows what is out there 🙂

    Well done 😉

  2. Heather says:

    That is awesome!!!

    I don’t scrap…but I would love to! I am like you have no idea where I would put all the stuff that goes along with it. I guess being homeschoolers we already have a TON of schtuff!!!!

    I just need to get pictures into albums. I have rubbermaids full of pictures. It’s really bad and one of my goals to get done. Just pictures in albums so we can look at them…nothing fancy. Fancy Shmancy can come later…..

    The online thing though is way cool…I’d think it would also take alot of ink from the printer???!!!

  3. Carla says:

    Wow! That looks fabulous. I have never done any digital scrap booking but do think it looks very cool…and I love the idea of not having a bunch of clutter created in the making of it. Let us know if you find any other tools.

  4. Debbie says:

    Peter – Thanks. All I did was plug the photos in though. 🙂 It is a cool little program.

    Heather – Yes we do have plenty of homeschooling shtuff. Have you thought of photo boxes? You can divide the pictures by category and then you can access them easily for viewing and they’re also organized. That way if you do intend to scrapbook at some point they’ll ready for you. Just a thought. Of course, it is lovely to flip through the pages of an album, heh?
    And you do make a good point about the printer ink. Scrapbook paraphernalia (paper, fancy cutters, stamps, markers, etc) gets pretty expensive too, though. I wonder how the two would compare in price.

    Carla – Yes, it does seem like a great alternative. Scrap booking is also so time consuming. Of course, many people really enjoy it. 🙂 If I find out anything more I’ll be sure to share the info.

  5. Dawn says:

    That is really neat. The new iMac’s (2008) have all that and more built in. Actually our Mac does albums and stuff too, so when we have a family occasion, we can set it to music and have the page turning and the photos will go in and fade out and all of that. Sirdar takes care of it. He is going to be really mad that I beat him to telling you that. I am thinking it is time you got a Mac.

  6. Debbie says:

    Dawn – Uh huh. Yup. Ruuuub it in, why don’t ya? 😉

  7. Steffi says:

    Cool pictures,cool music and good idea to make a “Smilebox”.

  8. my4kids says:

    I use smilebox occasionally for things but hadn’t thought or realized maybe that I can post it on my blog.
    I actually scrapbook also and can tell you the price of ink for a printer and the price of supplies is pretty comparable….actually printing out for digital scrapbooking is probably less expensive but I personally like the looks best when I do it my way.

Leave a Reply

