Fun Monday

Giveitatry has assigned us this task:

I want to know what your favorite treat is. Is it sweet or sour?
Is it plain or salty? Is it candy or chocolate?
Is it homemade or store bought?
For instance, if your favorite is chocolate,
tell us what kind specifically – sometimes you feel like a nut,
sometimes not so much. I have heard a lot of talk about Junior Mints,
but is it your favorite or just a tasty treat? 
It can be anything, popcorn, peanuts, ice cream or chips,
maybe you have more than one favorite – that is ok,
just show us your favorite(s) and tell us why you like it so much.
C’mon, what gets you all juiced up?
So, here is my rendition:
The Love Affair
Fingers reaching,
Grasping,
Pulling you closer.
My tongue running across my lips in
Anticipation of your salty loveliness.
We’ve shared this dance for so long.
It haunts me often.
And, like those dances we shared when first we met,
I dip you.
Deeply, smoothly, and creamily.
Finally the moment I’ve awaited arrives.
My lips part and…
CRUNCH…
Crunch, crunch, crunch.
Mmmmmmmm.
Chip-Dip

And so goes the reason why I have a weight problem. It’s not just a snack. It’s love.  😉 Potato chips and I became fast friends back when I was a child.  I used to sit on the couch with my mom watching Three’s Company, Murder She Wrote or other such television classics and we’d munch away on chips.  Mom and I bonded and so too did I bond with the salty crunchy yummyness.  Soon, I was introduced to the wonders of dill pickle dip, which was a quickly cemented relationship as well.  I do enjoy several other varieties of potato chips, of course, but as far as comfort food goes nothing beats plain ripple chips with dill pickle dip.

PS I was just reading Irreverent Mama’s blog, and she reminded me of Miss Vicky’s chips.  I must include these.  I always loved Sea Salt and Malt Vinegar, but was recently introduced to Lime and Black Pepper.  Yummmm.  🙂

Don’t forget to go HERE to check out the other Fun Monday participants.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Fun Monday. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Fun Monday

  1. Robinella says:

    I do so love those chips too. I’m partial to the Salt and Vinegar variety.

  2. giveitatry says:

    That does look good. I like the lead in there….I wasn’t quite sure who you were romancing for a moment! 🙂

  3. What is dill pickle dip??? It sounds yummy!!! I love chips and could easily sit down and eat them as a meal while watching TV.

  4. poeticscot says:

    I bet your great “rendition” “Love Affair” – get’s you ‘X’-Rated for sure 😯

    I could not possibly compete – but then again – I don’t have the experience you have 😉

    Does indeed sound yummy and the dill pickle dip – mouth watering………

    Must admit for me it is salty and usually a snack consists of cheese and bacon bap or if all else fails cheese scones ++

  5. nikki says:

    I’ll take Ruffles and Dean’s French Onion dip any day!! Yummmmmm!

  6. Dawn says:

    Great poem.
    I like chips and dip too, especially that Renee’s Mighty Ceasar salad dressing and dip we discovered. I can’t get enough of that stuff. Since having that in the house, I eat more chips, and more vegetables, but I think the dip cancels the healthy in the vegetables.

  7. Heather says:

    In Minnesota we used to eat Ruffles dipped in Top of the Tater…it wasn’t dip but this sourcream/chive onion for potatoes. It was quite addicting!! I love the Salt & Vinegar chips too! Have you ever tried Dill Pickle Potato Chips?? Tom’s Kettle Cooked Dill Pickle Chips are absolutely delicious!!! I can’t seem to find them up here any more though 😦

  8. Kaytabug says:

    I am a chip-a-holic!! I could eat a bag a day at least! Have you tried dill pickle chips?? I like dill pickles better… I only have one bag left of my Fave chips…good thing my Mom is coming to visit with more…She is just like me with the chips! She knows to bring her own bag…I don’t share! 😉

  9. Steffi says:

    Yummy!I like chips too and with a dip really delicious – but unfortunately not good for my body ;O(.

  10. Tiggerlane says:

    Dill pickle dip sounds sinfully divine…I’ll have to make that sometime.

    YUM! Great poetry, btw!

  11. chrisb says:

    Although I love all the sweet things I often choose chips as my treat of preference.

  12. Susan says:

    That’s the one thing I’m not to fond of…much to my mom’s delight, she could always count on having the bag all to herself!

  13. Stephanie says:

    *stands applauding*

    That poem was AWESOME, titilating, and delicious!!!

  14. mjd says:

    What a fabulous Fun Monday post, you have included a fun poem along with your best snack. Ripple chips with dill pickle dip does sound like a perfect afternoon snack.

  15. kahless says:

    Ever had crisp sandwiches? Delightful.
    I go in phases between bacon crisps and salt and vinegar.

  16. Melanie says:

    I love chips!! After all the sweet stuff I eat, I usually need to have something salty to balance things out. So I love chips and dip!

  17. Jenni in KS says:

    Food is such an incredibly sensual pleasure. This is one of the reasons I’ve never tried Haagen Das ice cream. I’ve heard it’s better than sex, and I would hate for Danny to get jealous of some overpriced ice cream;o)

  18. Karmyn R says:

    For some reason I always crave chips on roadtrips. As soon as my butt hits the chair and the engine comes on – I need one.

  19. Pamela says:

    it has to be pretty darn good dip for me to eat potato chips

    a friend of mine talks about kettle chips all the time from somewhere in Oregon.

  20. i like french onion dip with my chips! (although i haven’t had that for a long time … )

  21. Debbie says:

    Thank-you for all your great comments. It’s great to see some fellow chip lovers out there. 🙂

    The dill pickle dip that I’m referring to is not homemade. It is Philadelphia Cream Cheese dill pickle. Check them out HERE.

    I have tried dill pickle chips but I’m not a fan for some reason.

  22. Heather says:

    Just had to share I discovered a new potato chip today! Lay’s Kettle Cooked Maui Onion…. YUM!!!

  23. beccy says:

    I’ve been trying to resist but reading these posts is just too much. I’m off to find a packet of crisps!

  24. theotherbear says:

    You’d get on well with my hubby, he can chow through a family pack of chips in no time.

  25. lisa says:

    I have never tried the dill dip but I have a snack I love that I forgot to mention. It sounds like you’d appreciate and maybe even try it so. You get some Lay’s Potato Chips and some Dill Pickle Slices, then you make a pickle sandwhich. One chip, one slice, a couple small chips on top and bite. YUM!

  26. my4kids says:

    I a fan of pringles potato chips but no dip usually since I tend to keep those away unless I am traveling like KarmynR said I get in the car for a trip and automatically look for the chips.

Leave a Reply

