The Pool Heater

So, I thought I’d finally show some pictures of this wood burning pool heater I keep talking about.

Miscellaneous 9674

Miscellaneous 9675

The black thing is obviously the stove. 😉 The brown oval thing is the filter – it uses special sand to filter the water. And the small white thing is the pump. Miscellaneous 9677

This is inside the stove at the top. The water flows back and forth through those pipes and gets heated by the fire.

The heater works very nicely although it does take awhile to get the water up to a nice temperature.  If at 9:00 am, the temp is 20 or 21 degrees C, it might take up until 3:00 or 4:00 pm to get up to 27 degrees.  Personally, I find 29 degrees a lovely temperature on a cool day.

Miscellaneous 9671

This is all of the wood that the kids and I drug out of the woods today for the heater because I’ve already burnt through our wood pile. We’re having friends over tomorrow to swim and I HOPE that this (plus a bit that I have left elsewhere) will be enough wood. To heat the water ten degrees I generally have to heat the pool for four to five hours. That’s a lot of wood!

Miscellaneous 9681

This is off topic of the wood stove. These are our garbage cans. Harmless enough looking right? Well, I get the lovely job of taking the garbage to the dump (we don’t get garbage pick-up out here).  Now, imagine these cans filled with icky stinky garbage.

Yesterday, I was on the phone with my friend, L, while I was dragging the cans over to my vehicle. That little unassuming one on the right was all that I had left. It felt really light so I presumed it was empty. I presumed wrong. I thought I’d double check, and lifted the lid to take a quick glance. And what greeted me?? A huge swarm of about a hundred flies zoomed outta there right at my face! I, naturally, screamed bloody murder into my friend’s ear. It took me a good fifteen minutes to calm down from the trauma. I despise taking the garbage to the dump!!

Miscellaneous 9670

On a happier note. We had barbecue shrimp last night for supper, and it was soooo good. 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Pool Heater

  1. Dawn says:

    Hey, that is a cool errr. hot wood pool heater. I hadn’t seen it as you didn’t have it set up when I was there.

    I am fortunate, Sirdar takes the garbage to the dump, a much more pleasant job in winter when it is all frozen. I probably would have freaked over the flies too.

  2. Emma says:

    Totally would have lost it with the flies over here!

    I hope the weather cooperates tomorrow!

  3. Pamela says:

    you should have a BYOB pool party

    Bring your own Bundle (of wood)

  4. my4kids says:

    I totally would have lost it with the flies also!!!

  5. beccy says:

    I love Pamelas idea.

    We had to dispose of our rubbish in France and it was really stinky. It makes me appreciate my bin men who collect the rubbish every week.

  6. Robinella says:

    I had no idea you could heat a pool with a wood stove. This one is made for that very purpose?

    What is worse than the flies coming out is the maggots they leave behind. Ugh.

  7. Debbie says:

    Dawn – Yes the job is better in the winter but still not great. I get all of the “fun” jobs ’round here! 😉

    Emma – I hope the weather is nice too, but because the nights are so cool these days the water never really gets warm enough on its own.

    Pamela – Brilliant idea! It’s funny because a friend of mine just mentioned the same thing to me.

    Terri – I lost it alright!

    Beccy – I also feel for our garbage pick-up guys having to sift through garbage every week! Mind you, mine was over two weeks old which made it decidedly grosser.

    Robinella – Yes, this wood stove is specifically built for heating pools.

    Too right about the maggots! I didn’t want to mention that, though. I didn’t want anyone blaming me for their getting sick all over their keyboards! 😉

  8. Joy T. says:

    I think Pamela has something there LOL Gives a whole new meaning to BOYB. The set up looks pretty neat though. Just start cutting down the neighbour’s trees. I’m sure they won’t mind 🙂

  9. Heather says:

    Your pool heater is similar to what our wood furnace is outside that heats our entire house and our hotwater for our house. We’re thinking of piping it into our greenhouse we build next year and maybe under our patio so the snow can melt off in the winter….

    We used to haul our garbage to the dump and it was awful!!! Love having pick up…will never not have garbage service again….

  10. poeticscot says:

    A great idea – to enjoy the pool and still have the warmth..

    I think I would hate having to take the ‘garbage’ to the dump. Can they not collect from you?

    As Adrian would probably tell you – over here they collect from us, although we have (1) week of recycled paper, glass etc and the other week is ‘garbage’.

  11. Steffi says:

    Wow…what a big pool! And to make a pool party that´s a good idea!Cool!

  12. poeticscot says:

    Forgot to add – how much I luv ‘seafood’ – ever so tempting – as your photo – rightly depicts 🙂

  13. Debbie says:

    Joy – LOL We have plenty of trees that could be cut down I just need Adrian to do it!

    Heather – I often think of your wood burning furnace and what a great idea to pipe it to your green house.

    Peter – I must clarify. Houses that are in towns/cities etc. DO get garbage pick-up. Out here in the country it is not automatic. We can get it if we want to pay extra.

    Steffi – A pool party would be fun, heh? But the pool isn’t THAT big. We had six kids over here one day and it was full. 🙂

  14. Robinella says:

    I’ve got something on my blog for you.

  15. giveitatry says:

    That is really clever – I have never seen anything like it.

    The shrimp sound good!

  16. poeticscot says:

    Wow, I must admit our Council Tax keeps rising and I do mumble each year – but I suppose I should be grateful – the thought of having to take my garbage to the dump – would be off putting – to say the least.

  17. Robyn says:

    Oh please don’t show that heater to Paul – he’ll try to build it himself (even though we don’t have a pool)!

    Some of our neighbours have been getting their garbage picked up – I can’t remember the names of the companies though. We’ve thought about it, but for now, Paul has been taking the garbage to work and using their dumpster (with permission of course).

  18. Koen says:

    Can you send me some pictures from the in and outside of your stove for the pool?
    I want to build the same…
    tuur_k@yahoo.com

    Kind regards.

    Koen

  19. Koldwave says:

    I was lucky to find this debbiemomof2.wordpress.com site. I’m so delighted by your way of thinking and writing. Have you thought about writing a book?

Leave a Reply

