Niceness

Robinella has awarded me with this lovely award. She thinks I’m nice which is pretty darn – nice – of her!

Let me just take this moment to say that if you haven’t checked out her blog, Not A Stepford Wife, than go now. First of all, I love that title. So much so, that I wish I’d thought of it myself because it describes me to a T. Check her out. And I’m not just saying this to be nice!

Now its my turn to nominate some nicey nice bloggers.

“This award is for those bloggers who are nice people; good blog friends and those who inspire good feelings and inspiration. Also for those who are a positive influence on our blogging world. Once you’ve been awarded please pass it on to 7 others who you feel are deserving of this award.”

Nice%2BAward

Dawn at Colours of Dawn: Always gives encouraging and thoughtful comments. She’s a great neighbour, and to top it off, she’s becoming a good friend.

Steffi at Mausbar’s – Nahkiste: Her blog is so nice to visit. What this woman can do with a sewing machine! Whew. And she shares beautiful photos of her flowers.

Heather at My Eclectic Blog: I love reading about her life in Alaska with her husband and her boys. Her posts are thoughtful and so are her comments. She even started a separate blog just for the purpose of being thoughtful and inspirational.

Carla – Carla’s Kootenay Living: Love her writing about her travelling adventures. She’s literally spreading her niceness all over the world. Uh, that kinda sounds like a disease! But it’s not. πŸ˜‰

Peter – Poetic Inspiration: A blog filled with wonderfully nice and uplifting poems.

Terri – My 4 Kids: She’s got four kids and she’s moving to Alaska AND she still manages to be nice.

Joy at – A Spot of T – Hilarious AND thoughtful writer. Don’t let her fool you. She really is nice!

Robinella made a comment on another post that got me thinking. In it she was venting about something, and mentioned in jest that she might now lose her Niceness Award.

Can a person be forthright, honest, and outspoken, but still be considered “nice”? I actually struggle with this concept in my life. I want to be a kind and thoughtful person, but there are times in life that require my inner…uh…bitchyness to shine through. And as I get older I hold it in less and less.

Does being nice mean you have to be that person who just agrees with everyone? We’ve all known that person who is liked by everyone. “Oh she’s sooo nice. Everyone likes herrrrr”. I always wonder how that’s possible. Do they have their own opinions? And if they do, do they state them?

Maybe it’s the way one states their opinions. If you do it in a respectful way or in a rude, overbearing manner it could make the difference to whether you’d be considered nice.

When I think about me, and what kind of stamp I want to leave on the world, there are worse things than being considered nice. BUT, I don’t want being nice to be confused with being a mushy, agreeable, blob.

Do you consider YOURSELF to be nice?

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Niceness

  1. Heather says:

    Ahhhh Thanks for the nomination!! That was so NICE of you!

    πŸ˜‰

    I’m a push over and people tell me all the time I’m very nice. Sometimes I wish I wasn’t so nice…hee hee! I’ve always worried about hurting other peoples feelings so I guess I am overly cautious on how I act and what I say and what I write on my blog. What I THINK might not be so nice sometimes….usually I just try to be me….

  2. poeticscot says:

    Ah, that is so sweet of you Debbie, thank you so very much and for your kind comments of my poems πŸ™‚

    I must admit when I read ‘Heather’s comments above – they so reflected of myself – in every sense. Such is my character trait – that I always care for others.

    I often think I should be ‘hardened’ – but then that would not be my true nature.

    You are so worthy of such an Award – for your ‘always welcoming blog’ and your delightful family posts and beautiful photo’s too.

    You have a way of bringing ‘sunshine’ into our often ‘clouded’ lives.

    Have a truly wonderful weekend πŸ™‚

  3. Dawn says:

    Thanks so much. I was nominated for this award from someone else also, and have to get on that before I get nominated by other people..hmmm…yep, will do that in a month…err I mean tomorrow. I was going to nominate you and half the people on your list, okay more than half, because I too think they are really nice. I must say, you have helped me out, because now I will nominate other people.

    I don’t think you have to be a pushover to be nice. I don’t think I am much of a pushover. I have had to work harder on my niceness factor than someone who is naturally nice, but I think I am getting there most of the time.

    Thanks again for thinking of me. I think you are nice and a great neighbour and getting to be a great friend too.

  4. Steffi says:

    Thank you very much for the nomination me,Debbie!You are so sweet and I like your blog too.Congrats to all other nominate blogs too and I read they all regular too.They are all really nice!
    Thanks again!
    Have a nice weekend!

  5. Robinella says:

    Again, you are too kind. haha. You are so right about that balance of nice and evil. I like being an enigma.

  6. Joy T. says:

    Ummm…I think you put me down by mistake. Are you sure you didn’t mean a different Joy T? LOL It’s sweet of you if it wasn’t a mistake. I mean. I really do try to be nice as much as possible and sometimes wonder if it shows enough. But then I stop worrying about it because I am who I am and stopped apologizing for being me years ago. Thanks for thinking of me Debbie, it’s very kind of you and made my day πŸ™‚

  7. beccy says:

    Congratulations on your award. There is a difference between niceness and mushyness. I always try and be positive and see the good in people but sometimes I get mad and then boy am I mad, you don’t want to be anywhere near me!

  8. Debbie says:

    Heather – I can relate. I, too, can be overly concerned with other people’s feelings. On the the other hand, I would rather be too concerned than not concerned at all.

    And I aim to just be myself, too. πŸ™‚ My insecurities, indecisiveness and wonderings about life and all.

    Peter – Thanks for the compliment. πŸ™‚

    I think by the very nature of your chosen career shows how caring you are. You’d have to be.

    Dawn – I wouldn’t doubt that you’d be nominated by many. And, noo, you are not a push over. As I’ve mentioned to you in the past, it’s one of the traits I admire about you. πŸ™‚ And you are nice. You many not be gooey nice, but you’re thoughtful enough to make a “casserole” for a neighbour at a difficult time in their lives. Not many people do that anymore. πŸ™‚

    Setffi – Thanks, and I hope you have wonderful weekend also.

    Robinella – No. YOU’RE too kind! πŸ˜‰

    Joy – LOl. You’re too funny. No, it’s not a mistake. πŸ˜€

    Beccy – There is a difference isn’t there? It’s good to strike a balance between being a kind person to being someone who doesn’t let people crap all over them.

  9. Carla says:

    Ah…thanks. I’ll do my nominations just as soon as I get back home. It’s sometimes a little tough getting online these days. But I do check out everyone’s blog when I get a chance even if I don’t always have time to comment these days.

  10. Pamela says:

    it is a dilemma.
    do you tell someone they have broccoli in their teeth?

    (:

    I guess “nice” is how you do things, more than what you do.

    I need to ask if I do things out of love, or just because I’m in the mood to be critical.

    tsk. I’m not always nice.

  11. my4kids says:

    Thank you Debbie! for some reason I had a hard time finding this post…..I kept pulling up your page and it hasn’t shown anything but the one about your pool heater. I was looking something up in technorati and found it. I will do this but probably wait until I get set in Alaska! Thank you .

  12. G says:

    Am I Nice?
    I like Pamela’s response. It’s how you say them and whether or not you are doing it out of love.

    I think that I am supportive. not really nice. I think that sometimes friends, spouses, children (and me too) need to hear ‘direct’ truth. I may not say this to everyone but those that I love, I would. If I disagree with someone, I will usually say what I think but not hurt their feelings.

Leave a Reply

