Cranky Mom on the Loose

I have been cranky as hell today and for no apparent reason. I woke up happy enough. Then this afternoon, I was settling in to fold laundry and watch a movie. R was outside with Adrian and J was in her room playing with Polly Pockets and listening to an audio book. All was right with the world. I was enjoying the movie and not even feeling guilty since technically I was doing a chore at the same time.

The movie was The Departed. A pretty good movie.  It does have quite a bit of swearing in it, but the kids were off and busy. Leonardo DiCaprio is great in it, and I must say he is getting hotter and hotter. It must be the tough guy roles he’s playing.

Then R comes in looking for something new to do.  I don’t want to stop my movie so I pawn him off on J. Usually, they can play really well together, but today J decides to be snotty she wants to continue to play by herself. They keep coming out of the room complaining about one another and finally J locks herself in her room.

R, now alone and not able to occupy himself, asks me to go and collect wood with him in the back field. He’s all into collecting wood lately because he gets to drive the tractor. He just learned how to do it, and now that’s all he wants to do.

Most of the time, I’m totally into spending time outside with my son, but today I was happy folding laundry and admiring Leo. R just didn’t let up, though, and I gave in…but in a very grumpy way. Man, I acted like a spoiled brat. It’s like I was watching myself being a total bitch but I couldn’t stop myself. I even felt how my face was all scrunched up into a scowl.

That’s why I’m on here. I had to get away from my family before I totally bit their heads off. Take my sudden bad mood, mix it with the colourful language I was just watching on The Departed, and I was about to start saying some pretty hurtful stuff. And what for? Because I wasn’t getting my own way. How’s that for some truth? You’d think an eight year old was writing this, heh?

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cranky Mom on the Loose

  1. Heather says:

    I can sooooooooooooooo relate! The ONE time you actually want to sit down and watch a movie, the kids interfere.

    There has been a few days where I have felt like I have acted worse than a child. But…I know I’m not perfect and I feel it is very good for my kids to see my imperfectness from time to time… 😉

    I hope your mood cheers up and you feel better by venting off a little!!

  2. Dawn says:

    I hope you are feeling better. I have not been that way with my kids, probably because I am the rotten mom who won’t give in, and if my kids won’t let up, they are given a job to occupy their time. I must say, I get straight into the cranky mood, no cajoling necessary on their part. I would have continued to have my own way, because that is the selfish person I am, but I would not be feeling guilty, or like a rotten mom for having a tantrum doing the things I didn’t want to. I have told Sirdar, he is the parent, do it happily, or say no, make a choice and live with it. It is not their doing what you choose, so don’t take it out on them.

    Anyway, you are way better at doing things with your kids than I am, so just take what I said with a grain of salt, you know what I am like, (or maybe not because you gave me nice award 🙂 ).

  3. Robinella says:

    I’ve been there and I’ve ignored them – which is also 8-ish. Oh well, they get over it and so do I. And so will you and yours.

  4. beccy says:

    We wouldn’t be human if we didn’t get cranky sometimes.

  5. Joy T. says:

    Guess that puts me at about age six because I definitely would have finished my movie and then I still would not have gone to get wood because ‘not letting up’ doesn’t cut it with me. Especially if I’ve gone to get wood willingly many times before. You rock. I suck. But I’m ok with that 🙂

    I know know. She says handing back her Nice Award.

Leave a Reply

