eek. I’m not sure what to do…

Money’s tight around here lately which is the only downfall to having Adrian working closer to home rather than up north in “oil town”.  He used to get paid at least twice what he makes now, BUT he was only home four days out of fourteen.  He’s been home for over a year now and we’re still trying to make the financial adjustment.  Some of the problem is our own spending habits, and some of it comes from everything getting more expensive.  Groceries, gasoline, house utilities…just everything. 

This time of the year is expensive, too, since we’re registering the kids in their activities, they seem to have grown out of all of their clothes, and Christmas will be approaching quickly enough. 

Pause while I break into song:

Money, money, money
Must be funny
In the rich man’s world

Eh hem.  Back to what I was saying…Oh yes.  We need more money. 

I’ve spent the last two days creating a resume which proved to be a challenge since I haven’t worked outside of the home in over eight years.  BUT with the help of my very good friend, G, who is all knowing and wise in these matters, I managed to pull together a half decent resume that I can even be proud to hand over to a potential employer.  It seems that I’ve actually accomplished some things over these last eight years and raising kids isn’t totally brainless.  In fact, I got myself skeells. 

So today, brandishing my shiny new resume, I went out and pounded the pavement.  Well, so to speak.  I drove my minivan to two stores.

First I went to a well known book store while my friend, S, occupied the kids outside in the van.  Thanks again, S!  They’re hiring at the moment – as is most places here in AB.  I spoke to a manager, she took my resume, and said she’d get back to me within the week.  Oh I hope I get that job.  I hope I get that job.  It would be nice if I got that one since I enjoy reading.

Then we went onto a popular department store (NOT WALL-MART!!!).  I had to go there anyway because R needed new shoes and pants and shirts (see above where I mentioned that he grew out of everything).  I thought that I’d bring along my resume because it’s so pretty just in case.  As it happens, they’re hiring, gave me an interview right away (again while S took care of the kids), and pretty much hired me on the spot.  They’re going to call me next week with shift and wage information.

Here’s where the “eek” part comes in.  Now that I’ve got a job, I don’t know that I want it!  Do I want to be away from my family?  (It would be evenings and weekends when Adrian is home)  Do I want to go back to serving the public?  Do I want to work in a department store?  What if I’m not any good?  Is the extra money worth the potential stress on myself and my kids and husband?   Am I making the right decision?  The extra money would be nice, though.

I’ve had jobs, in the past, that I’ve hated and I don’t want to do that again.  If I have to work, I want to enjoy my job.  That’s why I was hoping to get on at that book store.  There’s still a chance.  And the department store isn’t calling back until next week.  But what if they call on Monday before the book store calls?

Oh jeez.  I’m rambling now.  What to do – what to do.

I guess, just simply try it, and if it doesn’t work out I can quit.  Although, I don’t like the idea of walking out on a job to which I’ve made a commitment.  Sigh.

Thanks for reading this mish mash.  This is how my brain works when I’m trying to make a decision…back and forth…which is why I tend to be indecisive in my life.  😯

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to eek. I’m not sure what to do…

  1. Carla says:

    Well, you could always take it while you’re looking for something that you know you would enjoy. Sometimes being employed helps you get into the place that you know you would like. Good luck. I hope it all works out.

  2. Debbie says:

    Thank-you, Carla. I’m sure it’ll all work out just fine. For some reason, I get a little freaked out with change. Not an exciting trait of mine, but ah well. 🙂

  3. Steffi says:

    Good luck,Debbie for your interviews and I hope you get the job!

    Yes,your post is really true! We need more money too.The life here is so expensive and all need only money,money,money…. The new schoolyear started here and the kids need new books for the school – we pay over 100 Euro (143 canadian Dollar,135 US Dollar) for Anne´s books and for Nathalie the same!! Only for the books but they need much more at school-pencils, paper,…Nathalie have soon her travel for 5 days with her class – again 225 Euro and Anne´s travel with the choir in october over 1000 Euro….

    Yes,I know children are expensive but here in Germany is a life with kids extrem expensive and for every thing you must pay!Yes,I have a part time job but the money is not much … My rescue is Andre because he have a little bit more money in his job.But save money-that´s at the moment here not.All money go away for food,rent the house,benzin of the car,… But it´s good to know the life around the world is the same with the same problems…But I think the life here is much more stressful because the atmosphere here is so of pressure full and the quality of the life is not good. that´s why so much peoples from here try to emigrate to other countries to find a new job.Much peoples want go to Canada too… and I wish I can go the same… Have a nice weekend!

    SORRY my bad english!

  4. Heather says:

    Wow you have some tough decisions to make! I’m sure whatever is meant to happen for you will happen…I hope you can make it work out for the time being.

    We’ve had situations in the past where I have thought maybe I should get a job too….but I never did…we just got through the rough spots some how….sometimes I wish I could work a waitressing job occasionally just for fun. Sounds weird I know! But it’d be fun to get out once in awhile and talk with new people…

    If I HAD to go to work now…I’d be hard…I’m in the same situation with you…younger kids, homeschooling and all the other mom stuff to do…it’d be very challenging. It sounds though that you guys have a good plan and if this can be temporary it will give you guys a boost financially for awhile.

    Good luck on it all!!!!

  5. Joy T. says:

    Hey I’m 19 years out of the workforce and I know I could put together a great resume. People really underestimate us stay at home moms 🙂 This is the greatest time ever in Alberta to get back into the workforce. I had a friend who handed in a resume and they were practically hanging on her leg as she went out the door LOL “We’ll hire you right now!” they kept saying. Like you, my friend had another job she wanted more and wanted to hear back from them first. It’s so great to have those options. I remember a time when there were 20 other people looking at just one position. I hope everything works out with job and family. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed the bookstore calls!

  6. giveitatry says:

    I know exactly what you are talking about being out of the work force. I have been out for about 12 years now. I have NO idea what I am going to do when I go back.

    I do think it would be a lot easier to work if you really liked the job…so I hope you get the job at the book store. You might want to call about the book store job early next week and check on the status. It might help make the decision about the department store one way or another.

  7. Robinella says:

    I’m sure the bookstore will come through and if not, it’ll work out anyway. I’ve gotten a part-time night job before so I could gain back some of my sanity and it really helped.

    I’m happy I don’t HAVE to right now, but it’s nice to know we gals are employable if we need to be!

  8. Sirdar says:

    Posting from afar…….

    Hey…I feel your pain. When I finally came home from working out of the home for 7 years it was quite the adjustment to come from a much higher wage to a…lower one. Somehow we have managed but things are getting a fair tight here too. I know our issue is spending, not making the money. I make pretty good money, but as a family, we don’t. I always say we live a two income lifestyle on one income. It can be very stressful…much like you are experiancing right now. The stories I could tell you about when I finished school…..

    I thought of taking a second job somewhere myself. I would like one where I would learn something that I want to know about that way it would be not a job, but a learning experiance where I get paid. Hmmm…I wonder if Computerworld is hiring…

    Good luck on the new job and I hope it helps your situation.

  9. Dawn says:

    I got my first job out of the home almost 4 years ago. I applied for my current job as tour guide and really hoped to get it, but didn’t so took a job in a kitchen at a concessions lounge as a fry cook. I did well their, and when the tour guide job came up, I applied again. When I reminded them I had applied the year before (the lady was quitting because of an unexpected pregnancy), they said I had a good chance. I knew I had it at that point even though they had another interview. Sometimes you get a job you are not as fond of but once you have been in the workforce, something else presents itself. I like my job most of the time. My kids are older and can stay on their own so it works well now. That job 4 years ago had evening and weekend shifts which worked then. It seems like a long time ago that I worked for that year there, and it wasn’t all bad, but I hope I don’t have to go back to the shifts that were required of the job.

    Good luck with you job search and breaking into the workforce. You have great qualities and will do well in whatever job you are in. You have moral support just around the corner.

  10. Debbie says:

    Steffi – It sure does sound expensive there. Do you have to buy their textbooks as well?

    Heather – I was just wondering to myself who would WANT to be a waitress? LOL You, I guess! That is one of the few jobs I would soo not want to do.

    Joy – I was a little surprised they hired me right away. My friend was telling me it was going to be like that – I guess I just underestimated what’s going on out there work wise.

    Givitatry – That’s good advice. I think I WILL call them today.

    Robinella – You’re right, of course. Whatever happens, it’ll be for the best….I still want that bookstore job, though! 😉

    Sirdar – Yeah that financial adjustment is a hard one. You know how it is. We’re not completely strapped, and if we curbed our spending we’d be in better shape, but some extra money would help make things more comfortable.

    By the way, I could totally see you at Computerworld! 😉 And then burnt out six months later…

    Dawn – There is a wise lesson in that story – thank-you.
    I could take the department store job and apply again at that book store in a few months. I imagine coming up to Christmas everyone will be looking for people.

    Thank-you (and Sirdar) for commenting and giving support. It’s really appreciated. (eyes welling up now) 🙂

  11. Heather says:

    I used to waitress and I actually had fun. I had a few times when I hated it or didn’t want to work and grumpy people…but now it seems like it would be fun to do for a few nights here and there. Plus if it sucked I could just walk out and quit. What can I say it doesn’t take much to entertain me these days… LOL!

  12. Emma says:

    I wonder if it’s the bookstore I am thinking of..I may know the asst manager.

Leave a Reply

