Cuddling up with hubby to watch a nice movie…

Adrian came home the other night with some movie rentals.  The first thing I usually ask when he does this is, “Did you get any for me or they all just sci-fi vampire types?”  That may sound like an ungrateful question, but after sitting through Dawn of the Dead or other movies with words like Blood or Kill in the titles I’ve learned that I usually have to just go and pick my own movies.  This time, though, he surprised me. 

“Yes, I got a couple  for you.” 
“Really?  Which ones?”

I peered into the bag and reviewed the titles, but they looked unfamiliar. 

“I don’t recognize these ones.  What are they about?”
“I’m not sure.  I just asked the guy at the counter if they have any good chick flicks available for the boss at home and he gave me these.”

Isn’t he a sweetheart??

Cut to that night.  The kids were in bed and we were tucked up to watch one of the said chick flicks.  The first one had Kate Beckinsale in it and, if I remember, she’s good.

Opening scene:

A young couple is driving down a dark road.  The wife is asleep, and the husband, who’s driving, looks tired.  Suddenly a raccoon walks into the middle of the road and he has to swerve to avoid it.  The tires squeel as he stops the car and the wife jerks awake.  They’re both panting, she’s annoyed, but then they continue on their way.  They start bickering about stuff, which gets me thinking the movie is about a marriage gone wrong and they somehow have to find a way to reconnect.  Soon enough the car starts making funny noises, and eventually breaks down.  They walk to this crappy motel and have to stay the night.  And this is where the real lovey dovey stuff began.

Bored, the husband flicks on the TV, and finds himself watching some cheap horror movie where people are getting stabbed to death.  But, oh wait.  The room in the movie looks familiar!  It’s the room they’re staying in.  As they look around they see hidden cameras staring at them and suddenly the lights go out.

I sat in terror for the rest of the movie as I watched this young couple trying their best not to get stabbed to death by the freaks that run the motel.

Chick flick?  I don’t think so!!  I don’t know what the hell the guy at Blockbuster was smoking!  Adrian was even at the edge of his seat during the movie. 

“Why kind of girly movie is that??” I asked from behind my pillow.
“I dunno.  Maybe one that you’d watch with Karla Homolka.”

The movie?  It’s called Vacancy.  Only watch it if you don’t feel like sleeping that night.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cuddling up with hubby to watch a nice movie…

  1. dawn says:

    As soon as you started, I knew where you were going with this. I have watched enough previews on tv to recognize (although I couldn’t name it) the movie and I in no way want to watch it. Good for you for sticking it out. Not a chick flick, and I think the guy at Blockbuster was laughing with his buddies on that one. He should take it back and see if he can get your money back because it wasn’t a chickflick.

  2. Robyn says:

    Paul and some of his buddies went to Mara for a boys weekend in June and they went to the drive in down there – that was the 2nd movie and they drove out after 10 minutes lol

  3. Heather says:

    I hate Blockbuster. Get Netflix!!!

    At least your hubby TRIED to get something for you. That was pretty sweet.

    I also hate terror movies now-a-days….don’t like the icky, scary stuff to think about….I like the mushy, sweet, feel good movies…yea chick flicks.

  4. debsgr8r says:

    Maybe the Blockbuster guy meant, “Get-the-chick flick”. As far back as I can remember (forgive me, it’s been a while since the last date), guys would pick a scary movie with a nondescript title as to hide what the movie really was. Then wait, with open arms, to “get the chick”. Literally. Hey, on the bright side, perhaps the hubby just wanted some cuddle time and couldn’t think of a better excuse. Lucky you.

  5. Robinella says:

    That is so funny! Mine comes home with blood and kill movies too. Luckily or strangely, I like them too. He has also been known to pick good chick flicks so I’ve gotta give him credit.

  6. giveitatry says:

    I’ve seen that preview – it looks to frightening for me.

  7. Joy T. says:

    They don’t make them scary enough for me so I have to say I was really disappointed in this movie when we saw it last weekend.

  8. Emma says:

    The commercial freaked me out…there was no way I would have seen this one! But I bet Karla Holmolka loved it.

  9. pamela says:

    no way… the dementor that popped into the tunnel in the latest harry potter movie made my heart skip into my throat.

    I’m sticking with disney flicks

  10. Sirdar says:

    The definition of “Chick Flick” is soooo vague 🙂

  11. my4kids says:

    Someone needs to explain to the blockbuster guy what a “chick flick” is….

Leave a Reply

