Summer for a Day

We had a great day yesterday. It was lovely and hot. It’s been so chilly lately, but summer was back for a day. I did spend my time stoking the fire and it got to be quite tiring.

The temp of the pool when I started was a verrry chilly 14 degrees C!! I started the fire at 7:30 am, by 2:30 it was 21.5 degrees, and R and his friend were in the water. Yikes. Still too cold for me. By 7:00 pm I had warmed it up to 26 degrees. Still not quite as warm as I’d have liked.  The ideal temp, I find, is 29 degrees. 

We used ahhh-lo-hot of wood. In fact, R and I need to go searching for more if we want to heat it up today.

Miscellaneous 9739

And guess who called me last night? That bookstore!!! They want an interview Tuesday night. Yes, that’s the same night I was to start at the department store. Sheesh. I feel kinda bad, but I accepted the interview, phoned the department store and changed my start date to Wednesday. I can’t tell you how much time I’ve spent thinking and worrying over this situation. I know. I know. It’s just a clerk’s job, but (as my friend, G, pointed out) it is where I’m choosing to spend my time instead of with my family. So, it’s important. If I have to be away from them at least I could be happy, right?

Today, my friend, L, is coming over to cut J’s hair. It’s so nice to have a friend who is a hairdresser.

The next few posts are pictures. Scroll down if you want to check them out. 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Summer for a Day

  1. Heather says:

    Ohhhh I hope you get the bookstore job!! We’ve been having INCREDIBLE weather here too. Today is the first day it has been overcast. From sitting outside for all our football and our lawn I have been able to keep my tan all summer long… 🙂

  2. Debbie says:

    Thanks, Heather. 🙂

    We’ve actually had cold and overcast weather for the last week or so. Yesterday was the first nice day in awhile.

  3. giveitatry says:

    I hope you get the bookstore job too! That is exactly my luck – to have them call when I am supposed to be starting the other job. Good Luck!

  4. Joy T. says:

    Excellent about the Bookstore interview! The power of the Secret perhaps?? Ok that might be too ‘over the top’ for some LOL I hope you get it and your friend G is very wise to point out what she did. Lots of luck!!

  5. Carla says:

    Good luck with the interview! I hope you get the job at the bookstore. That would just be so cool. I’ve always thought I would like to work at a bookstore.

  6. Steffi says:

    Good luck with the interview to you! Nice to hear you had a great day! Here we have only rain,rain,rain…and temperatures like in autumn!

  7. Dawn says:

    Grreat about the bookstore. I hope the interview goes well and you get the job. Perhaps the calling helped your cause.

    Glad the weather is nice there, I hope it holds out for a couple of weeks.

  8. Emma says:

    I hope you get the bookstore job, becuase there is nothing better than a 30% discount on books! Makes me wish I still worked at one. You’re going to have to email me and tell me which one it is, because I was thinking out of the city. Don’t worry I won’t stalk you. Unless it’s at the mall- that’s my local!

  9. beccy says:

    Good luck with your interview, I really hope you get the job, I can’t think of a nicer type of shop to work in.

  10. Pamela says:

    either job will be easier than chopping wood (:

Leave a Reply

