Losin’ It

A2036C

I’m feeling a bit like this cat.

This year is my third year of homeschooling but it might as well be my first for all of the disorganized running-around-with-head-cut-off that I’m doing.

I’m feeling completely overwhelmed. And there’s really no big reason to be – it has just suddenly hit me:

  • I have a kid in grade three and one in grade two. They have a lot to learn this year and I somehow have to teach it to them.
  • I have to organize all those educational materials.
  • I have a house that needs to be cleaned and STAY clean. I’m not talking immaculate, but where you can at least have a pathway to the kitchen, living room, and bedrooms. You know. Livable.
  • I have to get my kids to start re-start doing their chores.
  • I’m taking on a part time job. I did get the bookstore job, by the way. Yay!! It pays less than the department store, which makes me chuckle because I chose the job that pays less.
  • We’re involved with the Junior Forest Wardens. A great program for the family in which we participate every other weekend.
  • I have to be a wife.
  • I have to be me.

When I list it like that it does sound like a lot.  Okay, maybe it doesn’t. 

I know a mom who has EIGHT kids and is managing everything. And I know a mom who has four children, FULL-time homeschools, makes and bakes everything from scratch, has a part time job, bike rides for exercise, and lops the heads off chickens…all before lunch.  Maybe that last bit was one too far.  🙂 And yes, I’m talking about you, Dawn! 

So, I recognize that I don’t have any more on my plate than the next mom, but I’m feeling like I can’t get a handle on this.

Too…many…thoughts…running…through…my…HEAD!!!!!!!

Thank-you for tuning in. Please, excuse me while I go and have a melt down… 😆

Update:  Instead of having the melt down, I decided to pick up the phone and call a friend.  Dawn.  While the melt down was certainly tempting, regaining sanity and perspective was more important and, frankly, more productive.  Dawn has a plethora of experience when it comes to homeschooling and even though we don’t share exactly the same views on the topic, I sincerely respect her methods.  Now that I’m calmER, I realize that I was trying to put too much into our home instruction days forgetting that they have several years of school left and, in fact, their whole lives to learn these things. 

The monster called Perfectionism does haunt me occasionally.  It rears its ugly head and when it roars I tremble, but, fortunately, I also recognize it and know that a conversation with a level headed friend often sets me right.

Thanks again, Dawn.  And I must mention that she corrected me – on the phone and in the comments section.  She does NOT lop heads off of chickens.  She merely cleans their guts out.  :mrgreen:

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Losin’ It

  1. my4kids says:

    It’s normal to feel that was sometimes. Especially if your taking on something new like a part time job. Hope your feeling less stressed soon!

  2. Robinella says:

    Congrats on the bookstore job! I would have taken that one too. My last 2 posts are about this very thing and I linked you in one of them as the one of the cream of the crop. heehee. breathe.

  3. Dawn says:

    Re..laxx… take a deeeeep breath. You can do it. Cut out the techno-stuff, and focus on life, and the little lessons will come out of it, and they will learn the techno-stuff that way.

    And, we don’t do chickens the same day as school, it is a science day on it’s own (and I don’t chop, I stick my hand in and pull out the insides) ;-).

    Nice talking to you.

  4. Heather says:

    Debbie…I can SOOOO relate this week!! I have too much to respond on this to comment here…I’ll be blogging about it soon.

  5. Joy T. says:

    Congrats on the new job!! Glad it’s the one you wanted.

  6. Sirdar says:

    I have days like that too. Well…ok…not with the kids and homeschooling. The kids at work…they drive me nuts sometimes 🙂

    Congrats on the new job. Hope it goes well and works into your schedule well too.

    That Dawn…she does more than I realize. Mind you I’m at work and she…works at home.

  7. Debbie says:

    Thanks, everyone, for the encouragement on this and the job issue. It means a lot to me.

    Sirdar – Funny funny man. “she does more than I realize” How do men THINK everything gets done?? 😉

  8. Dawn says:

    Thanks Debbie, you are so funny. I loved this post, not just because it had me in it, but because you said what so many feel. Funny about the chickens and what you said to Sirdar.

  9. giveitatry says:

    Congrats on the job!!

    I am jealous…I want to call Dawn and chat!

    Kudos to you for home schooling!

  10. Steffi says:

    Congrats to your part time job at the book store!that´s sounds interesting to work there!And it´s good to have a little bit own money ;O)!

  11. Robinella says:

    I haven’t forgotten your “prize”. I’ve just been busy and lazy and by this coming week, I promise to send a package out.

  12. beccy says:

    I would have chosen the bookshop too.

    The home schooling sounds like hard work but I’m sure you’ll succeed.

  13. Sirdar says:

    Debbie:
    “How do men THINK everything gets done??”

    Kids 🙂

  14. mindillusion says:

    I hope the cat was ‘Max’?

    How about teaching them the ‘child psychology’ of ‘child rearing?…

    Good Luck with your job at the book store – congratulations – right up your street.

Leave a Reply

