The New Job

Yesterday was the first day of my new job at the bookstore.  I don’t know if it’s wise to say the name so, for now, I’ll continue not to. 

It was a five hour shift, and I tell ya.  I was tired.  My brain was tired.  This will definitely take some adjusting.  But the pay cheque and 30% off of books and all other merchandise (they have an extensive gift section) is worth it.  Of course, I’ll have to be careful not to spend my whole pay cheque there! 

Now I’m getting ready for the the families from the Junior Forest Wardens to come over for an afternoon barbecue.  I’m freaking out and cleaning the house.  That’s what I do when we have guests.  My own little tradition.  😉 Of course, it’d be better to just keep the house clean all the time, but I like to stress myself out instead. 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The New Job

  1. Sirdar says:

    I wouldn’t have much trouble not spending my pay cheque in a bookstore. I read enough at work and at play that reading for enjoyment just seems wrong 🙂

    Hope it gets to the point that you don’t get as tired.

  2. Robyn says:

    30%! That’s great! And I could easily spend a paycheque there too…

  3. Carla says:

    I think I’ve already said it, but I love bookstores! Hopefully after a couple shifts you’ll have everything figured out and it will all seem like second nature and not tiring in the least.

  4. Steffi says:

    30 % that´s really great! I have at my work ( supermarket dept.garden) only 10 % and that´s nnot much !And the ” joke ” there is we have at two times monthly for 2 weeks 20 % off sales for all customers!!!So I buy better my things which I need at this two weeks and receive 20 % off like every customer! Very “funny” but that´s Germany work!

  5. Robinella says:

    I think a little stress every now and then is just the jump start we need. Just not too much, it’ll wear you down.

    30% offffffff. (dreaming)

  6. Dawn says:

    Glad it went well. I can relate to the tiredness. It is not because you sit around at home watching soaps and eating bon bons, it is because it is a different kind of work and learning the job as well. I would be tempted to buy also but would keep in mind that by adding the job, your reading time may be reduced.

    I can relate to the stress before guests. It isn’t as bad now with the kids older and cleaning and keeping it clean.

  7. giveitatry says:

    Oh, that is a tradition at our house too. Freaking out before guests come over…imagine that.

    Hopefully the job will get easier when you get used to it. It is hard to start a new job.

  8. my4kids says:

    I worked for a halmark store for 7 years and it was really hard not to spend my paycheck especially during holidays! It will take a little getting used to especially if your are standing the whole time I found that even though when I worked there I had kids and thought I stood up all the time anyway.

  9. Joy T. says:

    As much as I’d love to work in a bookstore there’s no way I could. I have lots of willpower but a bookstore is definitely a weakness of mine. Think Costco and that’s me in a book store! I come out with WAY more then what I originally went in for. You are SO lucky! It won’t be long and the ol body and mind will get into the swing of things and you’ll be running that bookstore in no time 🙂

  10. beccy says:

    I too clean the house for guests and each time I tell myself never again…keep it clean all the time…but it just isn’t that easy!

  11. Heather says:

    Hope you are liking your new job! 30% is an awesome deal for books! I just discovered I could get an “educator” discount at our bookstore since we homeschool. It is only 10% but still a savings!! 🙂

    Hey I clean the same way!!! I think it is good to invite people over though-it gets the house clean, everyone usually pitches in and we get out of our RUT. Hope you had a great time!!

Leave a Reply

