Homeschool Stuff

We have had a busy and productive school week.

On Monday I set our new school routine in motion. I’ve been struggling to figure out how to teach the children separately – with math, specifically. They’re only a grade apart but they learn at very different levels and speeds. J needs more time and explanation while R tends to pick things up quicker and speeds through assignments.

The routine is that while I’m teaching one child, the other finds a quiet activity that must be school related. They can work in their English Smart workbook, practice cursive writing, do a 15 minute educational computer activity and so on. Drawing is even acceptable. Such a simple idea, and one that did occur to me before, but I just didn’t think it would work. I guess I just underestimated my children’s ability to be independent. Anyway, so far it’s worked really well. J even seems to be enjoying math where she didn’t before and R now has the opportunity to work at his own pace rather than waiting for his sister to catch up.

We had gorgeous weather that afternoon. They played outside in the sand while I read to them “The Secret Garden”. We did that for about three hours, and we all enjoyed it immensely. Even Max moseyed over to listen to the story.

Homeschooling 043 Homeschooling 049

Homeschooling 046 Homeschooling 050

That evening we went over to Dawn’s place. Her son T occupied R while her girls took J for a ride on their donkey, Lucy. I think it’s safe enough to say Lucy’s name.  😉 Both of the kids were so tired that night – it was great.

On Tuesday we went to our school program and I worked in the morning as a parent helper. Then that night I had another training shift at the bookstore. The people seem pretty nice so far, and the manager is easy going and has a good sense of humour.

Today was a homeschool day and, again, the children worked on math separately. I joined them up for a Language Arts activity, however, where they reviewed the definition of a noun.

Homeschooling 052

They read words from a list that I provided, and took turns writing them in the appropriate category. They seemed to have fun with the activity.

Tonight we’re going to Adrian’s work for supper. Most months they host the meal for all of the employees and their families. They get it catered and it usually follows some kind of theme. The kids always get to bring home some kind of treat bag as well.

Thazit. You’re all caught up with my life. Relieved?? 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Homeschool Stuff

  1. Dawn says:

    Sounds pretty productive. It is great when you have productive school days. It makes up for the days when I feel like they are actually getting dumber instead of smarter. Well, okay, it’s just sometimes the days aren’t as productive. Glad it is working out separating them and having them find things independently.

  2. Heather says:

    Sounds like a good week to me… 🙂

    I’ve been thinking about doing unit studies with all the kids. They will all get something out of it I figure!

  3. Sirdar says:

    Home schooling is a learning experience for the parent too…trying to figure out how to teach what to whom.

    No problem about the Lucy thing. I asked and all she said is “bring treats” next time 🙂

  4. Debbie says:

    Dawn – “getting dumber intstead of smarter” HAHA!!! Soo funny. 🙂

    Heather – Unit studies do sound great. I’ve been meaning to look into those myself.

    Sirdar – What kinda treats does she like?

  5. beccy says:

    Sounds like a very busy time but lots of fun as well!

  6. Steffi says:

    Yes- your week sounds very busy and productive.I hope you had a little bit fun too.

  7. Robinella says:

    Don’t make me mention your perfect homeschool on my blog again! Just joking, although it all sounded so lovely. I like that idea with the white board. I have got to get one of those.

  8. Debbie says:

    Roninella – I love our white boards. The kids each have a smaller one as well. They’ll do math problems on those quite cheerfully compared to when I pull out a pencil and paper.

Leave a Reply

