Decisions, Decisions

I’ve never been good at making decisions. I tend to go back and forth, weighing the options several times, and then just as I think I’ve made my decision I think of something on the other side that causes me to waver.

If it was a decision between a “bed of roses” and a “pile of crap” the choice is obviously easy. It’s when I have two equally desirable options, however, that it becomes difficult.

I’ve always wondered about those people who make a decision and never look back. How do they feel so certain that they’ve made the right choice? Perhaps, one never knows. Does making a decision (or choosing a path) mean that you never look back? Never consider other possibilities?

Homeschooling 073-2

I was faced with just such a difficult decision this past week. Full time homeschool or continue with the part time program in which we’ve been participating these last two years. I’ve decided to try full time this year. I went back and forth over all of the pros and cons many mannny times. It was so hard because I love that program. It would have been easier if I was pissed off at them, actually. I am happy with my choice, though, and look forward to the year ahead.

Yesterday, we went to the school early, dropped off our borrowed books and cleaned out their desks. It was sad to say “see ya later” (we didn’t want to say good-bye) to everyone. Afterwards, we went for a walk at a nearby nature trail. It was a nice way to shift gears.

Homeschooling 057 Homeschooling 082

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Decisions, Decisions

  1. Dawn says:

    That was a great thing to do after the saying good-by. I think most people struggle with some decisions in life, especially when we have to choose between the many good things in life. We can’t do them all, and we can’t take every path. I think that is why those paths in pictures are so intriguing to you. It is a path you haven’t or may never get to journey on, and you wonder what if. I must say, that is the same with me, and I am intrigued by houses to and the wonder of what it would be like to live their in that time or place or with those choices. Blah,blah blaah. I will stop now. Hope you are enjoying your freedom.

  2. beccy says:

    That was a difficult decision to make but I’m sure you gave it lots of thought. Good luck with the school year, I’m fascinated with all you home schoolers as it’s something that isn’t really done here.

  3. Robinella says:

    I’m sure you made the right decision for your family. Have fun on your new full-time adventure.

  4. debsgr8r says:

    Mr. Robert Frost has always given me great advice. Perhaps he can offer you some too. Good luck.

  5. Sirdar says:

    I am one to worry if I made the right decision too. I usually make up my mind, make the decision, do it, then worry that it was the wrong one. Usually, it works out.

    I would imagine it was a tough decision to do the full time homeschooling. Hope it works our well for you. At least you have support down the road should you need it 🙂

  6. my4kids says:

    I constantly go over my decisions…back and forth..over again and again. I think sometimes I put way to much thought into it and irritate people doing since I have to “discuss” it with them even though I’m not really looking for their opinion just needing to say it out loud. Then once I’ve made a decision I still do it.

  7. Steffi says:

    I’ve never been good at making decisions too. I am sure you made the right decision for you and your family and I know that´s difficult.I wish you good luck with the new school year! To say “Good-bye” is always a difficult decision !

    Have a nice weekend!

  8. Heather says:

    Some decisions can be harder than others. When they involve my kids and can be really tough on me. I can’t help to have all these CRAZY thoughts going on in my head…”What if this?” “What if THAT?”

    In the big picture…I feel very blessed that I have so many choices that means my life is rich and full and GOOD.

    With having a part time job now Debbie I think you made the best choice for your family…enjoy your full time homeschooling and no committments! (other than the ones you make for yourself) 🙂

  9. Pamela says:

    E.x.a.c.t.l.y
    It’s like I’m driving while always looking in my rear view mirror. (not a view of my rear, by the way)
    Try to remind myself if I keep looking back I can’t see where I’m going.

    Well, enough of that analogy – but you get the picture. I think if you look ahead and do the things you know you should be doing you will do wonderfully well.

    And, the best part is – you can always change your direction if you feel the need arise.

  10. Emma says:

    As someone who knows she could never ever have the patience or ability to homeschool, I have to say I really admire you. You’ve obviously made the right choice for your family.

  11. Joy T. says:

    I always go with my gut. And because it’s never let me down, I tend to stick with that method LOL

    Sounds like you thought long and hard on your decision, so that tells me it was exactly the right decision for the here and now 🙂 Here’s to a happy full time Homeschooling year!

  12. Carla says:

    Choices are tough. I often mull them over for far too long. But I do find that I’m usually best off if I go with my intuition. I don’t think it’s ever been wrong. You are right though, two equally appealing choices are always the most difficult.

Leave a Reply

