Don’t Worry – I Know What I’m Doin’

So, now I’m full time homeschooling.  The days are our own and I can teach my kids whatever the hell I want – HOWever the hell I want.

……..hmmmm….oh I’ve got plans….I’m smart.  I can teach my kids.  Yup.  Uh huh.  I’m gonna have the most smartest kids around.  I’m totally confident in my abilities.  No worries here.  Nope…..

WHAT DID I GET MYSELF INTO??????

I suck at science!  I skipped most of my social studies classes in high school.  Phys-Ed?  Have you seen my pictures?  Do I look like someone who plays volleyball?

I DO have a plan…of sorts, but I’m freaking terrified that my kids won’t know all they need to know when they need to know it and that everyone else will know that I don’t know what the heck I’m doing!  You know??

Seriously now.  I’m exaggerating a bit here.  I am worried a little.  What parent doesn’t worry?  But I’m actually excited about this year.  We’ll do great. 

My friends and family have been pretty supportive these last couple of years, but I know that’s because the kids were still enrolled in school.  It was part time homeschooling and, as they saw it, there was still someone checking up on me.  Mom’s being supportive but I can tell she’s a bit concerned.  And you know?  Usually I’d be real worried that people weren’t supporting my decision, but for once in my life, I’m not.  Adrian and I are in this together.  We’re in the best province and area to homeschool and there’s so much support and activities available.  I don’t feel alone.  My friends and family will come around….or at least fake like they are! 

It’s funny because I was planning to write this post awhile ago, and my friend and I just had a conversation about this last night.  She doesn’t “get” my desire to homeschool, but she still wants to support me.  I appreciate it.  It’s tough when we want to support our friends but we’re not really on board with what they’re doing.  In the end, though, we don’t have to be on board.  In fact, my mom has told me this all along.  She says she would never homeschool, but she’ll support my choice to do so.  I love her honesty. 

Well, time is getting on.  I have to go, walk my talk, and teach my kids…something

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Don’t Worry – I Know What I’m Doin’

  1. Heather says:

    Don’t worry Debbie!!! You are doing fine and your kids are doing fine!!! I’m going to e-mail you a link to this online stuff I’m doing with my kids. They are LOVING it and it is really, really engaging.

    Do not…I repeat…DO NOT worry about what others are thinking!!!

    For Science and Social Studies…I’d ask your kids what some of the things they are interested in or give them a list of ideas. Pick a few things and then just explore them together and have fun with it! Most important thing…HAVE FUN!!

    Just relax I think you are doing awesome with your kids…you always have so many wonderful posts of the stuff you are doing and places you go to.

  2. Carla says:

    Your kids will do fine…you will do great! Don’t worry about what others think. Schools are just one way out of many to get an education. Focus on your kids strengths and they will excell. Most of all, enjoy yourself and your kids.

  3. Debbie says:

    Thanks guys. And thanks so much for the link, Heather. It does look fun.

    I’m really not that worried. And like I said, this is one of the few times in my life where I’m less concerned about what others think which is great.

  4. my4kids says:

    Since I’m new to homeschooling completely this year with Izzak I worry sometimes about how I’m going to teach him some things. I do have my parents support and for the most part Kelly’s as well. His parents aren’t as supportive but honestly I don’t care what their opinion is. Some friends are supportive but then I have others who ask if I’m still “doing that homeschooling thing”. Not exactly what the means but it doesn’t sound very supportive although all the people I’ve met here since we move are pretty much homeschoolers so they are all supportive.

  5. Dawn says:

    You’ll be fine. I don’t think they will have any holes in their education, any more than a kid in school. Glad you are able to participate in some of the same activities we are in, even if we are mostly just passing by each other at class change. You will have a great year.

  6. Joy T. says:

    LOL sounds like you’re doing fine to me. Just enough nervousness and confidence to do one fine job!

  7. Robinella says:

    Debbie, Debbie, she’s our (wo)man,
    If she can’t do it, no one can!!!

    Yeeaahh! Debbie.

    (I think I pulled a groin muscle doing that cheer.)
    ~R

  8. Heather says:

    Debbie…I’m the biggest dork…I guess I need to go back to reading comprehension 101! I’m glad you aren’t worried about it!! 🙂

    Really DO check Time4Learning out… the kids are really getting things that I have tried to explain before but just couldn’t get through to them on. It’s WAY cool and they can all go at their own pace and level!

  9. philosophyoflife says:

    Debbie, you are an inspiration for all those who are considering ‘homeschooling’.

    From what I have seen (from your photo’s) and reading your blogs – your children are indeed creative and a yearning for knowledge in all things and especially nature.

    I am so pleased that your family and friends are very supportive as you embark on this journey of discovery – not just for the children but of your own abilities and talents.

    Good Luck

    Peter

  10. philosophyoflife says:

    I forgot to add – if you get the chance to read the following book – it is worthy of praise and a favourite of mine – as it relates to a wonderful author and his life on the islands of Scotland.

    ‘For The Islands I Sing’

    By

    George Mackay Brown

    ISBN 0-7195-5628-7

    Hope I got the isbn correct – they do make the print so small nowadays.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

