Homeschool Stuff

My day didn’t turn out exactly the way I had planned.  We were going to do a writing assignment in the afternoon but instead I decided to perform the lovely chore of taking the garbage to the dump.  It’s really a gross job.  With the cooling temperatures, however, it’s not AS bad.  Only a few maggots to contend with.  🙂  And when I got home I noticed that I’d forgotten a bag of garbage.  Grrr.  How irritating.  😡

We read a book when we came home and then I set the children free to do whatever they wanted which, of course, was to go on the computer.  I don’t usually let them go on it during the day, unless it’s for educational purposes, until about 4:00 or 5:00 pm. 

I am realizing that I have to get a better daily routine set up.  At the moment, our mornings are very relaxed.  The problem with that it’s a challenge to get to down to business.  They get to watch a bit of tv, but I think I’ll eliminate that.  (I’m sure I’ll get some resistance!)  I’d like to see us wake up, get dressed, have breakfast, do chores, and then be schooling by 9:00 am.  That’s what I’d LIKE to see.  It can be a goal to strive for by the end of the year.

I also need to set educational goals.  For the past two years, all I had to worry about was math and language arts.  Now I’ve taken on the rest of the subjects, (science, social studies, art, phys-ed and music) I’ve got to get better organized.  Get a plan. 

I know that I want them to do Math and reading/writing every day.  Social studies may taken care of in the afternoon with literature/biographies that I will read to them.  Science could be once or twice per week.  These lessons will involve experiments along with a sheet to fill in on the experiment.  We will do physical education by making sure we do some kind of activity for an hour daily.  For ex: a walk, bike ride, sledding, swimming, etc.  They also are now enrolled in a gym program once per week.  They went for their first class this past Tues night and loved it.  They both were very excited on the drive home.  They’re in a music program called Big Drum on Mondays which, again, they’re quite excited about.  I may or may not look into an art tutor, and I’ll find some appropriate books to read and talk about for health. 

I’m looking forward to joining the local homeschooling support group.  I need the interaction with other parents so that I both get motivated and not get burnt out.

That’s enough rambling for now.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Homeschool Stuff

  1. Dawn says:

    Glad they enjoyed phys ed. I think a schedule is a good thing as long as it can also be flexible or you could get stressed out when it doesn’t work. When my kids were young (before school age) they watched TV sometimes during the day. It wasn’t a big thing, but as they got older I found they wanted to watch more, and it was more difficult to drag them away, so the rule has been no TV until 7:00 pm. Now they are quite a bit older, the rule is the same, but occasionally, we will watch something at 6 or if it is a bad day or a sick day, the tv will go on earlier. That happens maybe once or twice a year and usually in winter. They got used to the no tv rule quite quick, just like the no electronics until 3 rule.

    You will find what works for your family, but it might take a month or two, so in the mean time, enjoy the chaos; it isn’t going anywhere.

  2. my4kids says:

    I was worried about the phys ed thing for Izzak also but with so many parents homeschooling here they have a lot of activities. Swimming every monday and gymnastics every tuesday and thursday (and I get to participate in both!) Other then that he does a lot of his bike riding as well so I think he is covered. I’m working on a lot of other things for science and social studies trying to figure out what works but I’ve got the rest pretty much covered at the moment. I take the rest of the kids to school at 9 and Izzak and I start school at 9:30 after I get a couple of things started, like laundry. With him he is a bit older so I can get him started on an assignment though and take care of other house issues and help him when he needs it.

  3. Robinella says:

    Debbie, if you plan to do “school at home”, then I would get them on that schedule pronto. I hear a lot about deschooling which means lots of non-school stuff. In your case since you didn’t hate the school situation, there is no reason for deschooling and it’ll save you the hassle of the fighting-lock picking-screaming episodes.

    I wish I were more motivated. With RePete (3), we tend to play around a lot in the mornings and then try to get down to business. I get tons of resistance with this. So I’m trying to get us back to the morning routine of starting NLT 10am.

    Hope you find your groove.

  4. Debbie says:

    Dawn – Even as I wrote out that schedule I was thinking that we’d follow it on our “good” days. 🙂

    Terri – Oh it sounds as if Izzac will be kept busy enough. Plenty of fun things for him to do.

    Roninella – I flip between the “school at home” and the unschooling concept. For us, I know that math will quite schooly in that I want a set routine and complete the specific grade’s outcomes. Or try to anyway. Social studies will be more unschooly in that I’ll let the children’s interests kind of guide us. Maybe science too. Well, and Language Arts. But I think having a good routine that we AIM to follow is good for the soul. It doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with school.

    Hmmm – this was a long response considering you may not even read it!! 😀

  5. Steffi says:

    I agree with Dawn and I would like to say the same to you: You will find what works for your family, but it might take a month or two, so in the mean time, enjoy the chaos; it isn’t going anywhere.

  6. beccy says:

    It sounds like you are giving this a lot of thought and I’m sure you’ll get a system up and running soon.

  7. Heather says:

    I’m in the middle of getting a routine going for my kids. I’m waiting to see when all our activities will be. We’re just starting some of them again and once those are in place it will be easy to schedule everything else. My main concerns for my kids are Language and Math. But you can easily throw Math & Science together and History & Language Arts together. Art can go along with History and Language as well…The best thing is just to have fun with it all. You can do it however you want. Your kids are still quite young so I wouldn’t be too concerned about filling the whole day with educational activities. It all balances out I figure. Sometimes we are heavy on one subject for awhile and then we go off on another. I try to keep my focus on the actual learning that the kids are achieving and not what I’m setting out to accomplish with the kids.

    Every year it seems like it is different and September/October are always a little rough getting into the swing of things.

  8. mindillusion says:

    Debbie, I admire you so much.

    Your creative talents together with the curriculum will be an experience that will benefit R & J and feel sure they will exceed those within educational establishments.

    One’s ability to be flexible together with setting morning and afternoon priorities allows a sense of responsibility for R & J too.

    Good luck for the academic year.

Leave a Reply

